Firmware Optimizing

TF520 - 68020 Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3683
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by terriblefire » Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:55 am

tuxie wrote:
Fri Jan 15, 2021 10:38 am
Does someone have a TF520 and the ability to flash a new firmware ?
Even I dont own one anymore.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

tuxie
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Fri Jan 15, 2021 1:35 pm

I wrote a Firmware for the tf520 in VHDL , still with 8MHz but it is working. I am also already working on higher speed.
1DE3CAE3-50A6-4F47-8255-43DA36FCA412.jpeg
1DE3CAE3-50A6-4F47-8255-43DA36FCA412.jpeg (336.02 KiB) Viewed 418 times
These are the results with Blitter enabled ..

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3873
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by PhilC » Fri Jan 15, 2021 3:04 pm

Interesting results. I have a couple of these cards somewhere.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

dragmar
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 8:12 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by dragmar » Fri Jan 15, 2021 6:37 pm

I wrote a Firmware for the tf520 in VHDL , still with 8MHz but it is working. I am also already working on higher speed.
it's great news that someone is looking to improve the FW TF520. I have this card and I was hoping that maybe one day a revised FW would be created.

tuxie
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Fri Jan 22, 2021 1:54 pm

Some optimizings later and running with 16mhz
1566D3BE-D1C9-4C6B-A146-BE50E0C80873.jpeg
1566D3BE-D1C9-4C6B-A146-BE50E0C80873.jpeg (123.13 KiB) Viewed 309 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13743
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 22, 2021 2:26 pm

You need to turn off the blitter on the system as your using a none blitter reference file... It's not a proper test...
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

tuxie
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Fri Jan 22, 2021 2:54 pm

I know, but the Screenshot below is also with blitter and i posted this to compare this both results!

I could do a new reference without blitter to compare!

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13743
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by exxos » Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:07 pm

I would suggest you use the STE reference file as it is TOS206 with blitter enabled. This way you see the gains from the 020 at 16MHz.. I would also suggest starting with ST-RAM as those references are known.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1431
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by PaulJ » Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:10 pm

Very nice results @tuxie . I have a bare board, maybe I'll build it if the cold is still available.

tuxie
Posts: 211
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: Firmware Optimizing

Post by tuxie » Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:17 pm

exxos wrote:
Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:07 pm
I would suggest you use the STE reference file as it is TOS206 with blitter enabled. This way you see the gains from the 020 at 16MHz.. I would also suggest starting with ST-RAM as those references are known.
Problem is, i use ALTram , and the Results are different, and i just habe a MONO Monitor and no Color Monitor available! But yes i will do an reference file without Blitter.

Post Reply

Return to “TF520 (OBSOLETE)”