Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

TF530 - 63030 + RAM Board

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:28 pm

Hi TF, sorry to seem thick but I've now got the bits to finish off my TF530.

Can you please just confirm that no version of TOS will work on this board, unless you use a TBoard64? I don't mind using EmuTos etc if it will work for now.

Tboards as I'm sure you know are pretty hard to find. Would be happy to design my own if I'd got the schematic, GAL code etc that might be required, not experienced enough yet to design my own from the ground up.

Of course I can always use the parts now i've got them, on whichever board you think will work better with the ST?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7420
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by exxos » Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:37 pm

The TF board has no "space" to add any ROM, So you have to use a external board like T-board which can use TOS206 for example.

My suggestion to TF (and one he is working on) is using my DualTos board to hold the ROM, and adapt his code to re-use his SPI output to output the ROM enable.. BUT he can't do that on the current design as there are some addresslines missing.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:44 pm

Ok, now I understand, so essentially, wait unless I can find a Tboard.

No probs, thanks Exxos.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 650
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PaulJ » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:10 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:44 pm
Ok, now I understand, so essentially, wait unless I can find a Tboard.

No probs, thanks Exxos.
Forgottenmyname, I'm looking at putting 2.06 in my mega4's and came across this thread on the Atari board. Its a board adding 2.06 and a chunk of fast memory. It has schematics and a good write up so I'm think of building it.

[url]http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... p198715url]

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:54 pm

Thanks Paul, will have a read
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1149
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:26 pm

Sorry guys there isnt much hope for a ROM on the TF530. Maybe the TF534 r2c could have a very slow ROM in SPI flash.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:55 pm

It's not a problem not having the ROM built in, it's just knowing what we need to do to implement one externally is all :)

I don't suppose you have schematics etc for the TBoard do you?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1149
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 pm

I dont have the schematics for the TBoard. I offered to reverse engineer it before.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by PhilC » Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:02 pm

Be handy if you could and others could take up the task of designing pcb etc.

(Obviously when it suits you of course :D )
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1149
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:06 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:02 pm
Be handy if you could and others could take up the task of designing pcb etc.

(Obviously when it suits you of course :D )
20 mins work so far. The autorouter would route this in a few moments if i was that lazy...
tfboard.JPG
tfboard.JPG (68.64 KiB) Viewed 435 times
Now start listing the reasons why you dont want the 27C400..

My thinking is (a) Amigas use them and ergo (b) they are readily available and cheap.

You can also put 2 ROMs in them.

P.S i'm Calling this the TFBoard64.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply