Page 4 of 10

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:28 pm
by PhilC
Hi TF, sorry to seem thick but I've now got the bits to finish off my TF530.

Can you please just confirm that no version of TOS will work on this board, unless you use a TBoard64? I don't mind using EmuTos etc if it will work for now.

Tboards as I'm sure you know are pretty hard to find. Would be happy to design my own if I'd got the schematic, GAL code etc that might be required, not experienced enough yet to design my own from the ground up.

Of course I can always use the parts now i've got them, on whichever board you think will work better with the ST?

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:37 pm
by exxos
The TF board has no "space" to add any ROM, So you have to use a external board like T-board which can use TOS206 for example.

My suggestion to TF (and one he is working on) is using my DualTos board to hold the ROM, and adapt his code to re-use his SPI output to output the ROM enable.. BUT he can't do that on the current design as there are some addresslines missing.

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:44 pm
by PhilC
Ok, now I understand, so essentially, wait unless I can find a Tboard.

No probs, thanks Exxos.

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:10 pm
by PaulJ
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 1:44 pm
Ok, now I understand, so essentially, wait unless I can find a Tboard.

No probs, thanks Exxos.
Forgottenmyname, I'm looking at putting 2.06 in my mega4's and came across this thread on the Atari board. Its a board adding 2.06 and a chunk of fast memory. It has schematics and a good write up so I'm think of building it.

[url]http://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.ph ... p198715url]

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 3:54 pm
by PhilC
Thanks Paul, will have a read

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:26 pm
by terriblefire
Sorry guys there isnt much hope for a ROM on the TF530. Maybe the TF534 r2c could have a very slow ROM in SPI flash.

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:55 pm
by PhilC
It's not a problem not having the ROM built in, it's just knowing what we need to do to implement one externally is all :)

I don't suppose you have schematics etc for the TBoard do you?

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 6:59 pm
by terriblefire
I dont have the schematics for the TBoard. I offered to reverse engineer it before.

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:02 pm
by PhilC
Be handy if you could and others could take up the task of designing pcb etc.

(Obviously when it suits you of course :D )

Re: Which tos for the TF530 on a stf?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 9:06 pm
by terriblefire
Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:02 pm
Be handy if you could and others could take up the task of designing pcb etc.

(Obviously when it suits you of course :D )
20 mins work so far. The autorouter would route this in a few moments if i was that lazy...
tfboard.JPG
tfboard.JPG (68.64 KiB) Viewed 494 times
Now start listing the reasons why you dont want the 27C400..

My thinking is (a) Amigas use them and ergo (b) they are readily available and cheap.

You can also put 2 ROMs in them.

P.S i'm Calling this the TFBoard64.