kludge’s TF534 build

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:45 pm

kludge wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 6:06 am
chue wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 2:56 am
Try the CF card in Winuae with KS 3.1 to see if it boots.
It was created in Winuae with KS 3.1, so at least it did work :)

In hdtoolbox info, change scsi.device to uaehf.device and rescan.
If it was created in uae chances are this could be the reason you cant see it.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:45 pm

Well... just spoke out my experience... :geek:
I think this is bad soldering, mine started to work after reflow... :!:
im happy You sorted it ;)

Now You are officially qualified for TF536, lol

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by kludge » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:03 pm

PaulJ_2.0 wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:45 pm
In hdtoolbox info, change scsi.device to uaehf.device and rescan.
If it was created in uae chances are this could be the reason you cant see it.
Nope, wasn't it. It was the stupid CF adapter all along. Got new ones from China today, and now it works fine :)
8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:45 pm
Well... just spoke out my experience... :geek:
I think this is bad soldering, mine started to work after reflow... :!:
im happy You sorted it ;)

Now You are officially qualified for TF536, lol
I'm stupendously happy! It sat running the Frontier intro for an hour without hiccups tonight. Now I'll just have to build my other two 534's, THEN I'm ready for the 536. Can't wait. It's going to be amazing!

Thanks a lot for all the help you all, and for putting up with me for this long build! :D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:43 pm

Thats why we are here, bud! To share knowledge and to help each other in our hobby :)

dalek
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by dalek » Thu Jun 13, 2019 10:47 pm

Congrats! :D

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by kludge » Mon Jun 17, 2019 9:56 pm

Started my second TF534 build. The soldering seems to go smoother this time around. I don’t know if it’s because of training or because I have the board on a preheater. Might be a bit of both.

If it works, only time will tell :)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by kludge » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:43 am

Second board built, didn’t boot DiagROM. The bus transceiver is getting quite hot, so my guess is that I’m having a bridge somewhere. Didn’t have time to investigate further yesterday.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by kludge » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:48 pm

Had a bridge on the bus CPLD, so now DiagROM boots and passes. I'm having some memory issues that DiagROM doesn't detect, though, so KS refuses to work. Went into manual memory edit to try to figure it out, but I'm too tired right now to make sense of what I'm seeing. When I change bytes on some addresses ending in 0x03, 0x07, 0x0B and 0x0F some of the other addresses seem to be connected to them and changes as well. But not all of them. So either some address lines are still bridged (I don't think so... I beeped the hell out of it), or some RAM pins are floating and causing the issue?

Image 12.jpg
Image 12.jpg (269.32 KiB) Viewed 142 times
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1063
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by terriblefire » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 pm

Looks like chip select lines might be involved
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 295
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: kludge’s TF534 build

Post by kludge » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:53 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:21 pm
Looks like chip select lines might be involved
Thanks! Reflowed the RAM chips, and now I can at least boot from CF. Tested the RAM with AmigaTestKit (not for very long though) and it passes.

Frontier now starts and runs, but with graphical glitches and what seems like some music samples are missing. What would be the most likely culprit here? Bus CPLD, perhaps? The CF card and the Amiga are good. My first T534 works fine with them.

Tried starting the demo Hardwired and it crashes spectacularly.

A5BAA7D6-4719-48C0-8780-BBE1F81305A3.png
Graphical glitches in Frontier
A5BAA7D6-4719-48C0-8780-BBE1F81305A3.png (512.17 KiB) Viewed 112 times
C50AE822-3E50-4D88-B209-6F46A74BAF3D.jpeg
Hardwired crash
C50AE822-3E50-4D88-B209-6F46A74BAF3D.jpeg (106.73 KiB) Viewed 112 times

I’m starting to think I’m quite bad at this whole thing, but at least I’m enjoying it :D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

Post Reply