CDRom??

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
roy-forest-fc.goodall
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:06 am

CDRom??

Post by roy-forest-fc.goodall » Thu May 02, 2019 9:52 pm

is it possible to add a cdrom as well as the cf card/hdd to the TF534 like you can with a 600 or 1200 motherboard?
or are they two different interfaces?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2015
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: CDRom??

Post by terriblefire » Thu May 02, 2019 9:56 pm

I've never tried this.. But i imagine it would be fine..

I dont have CD Drives anymore.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: CDRom??

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Thu May 02, 2019 10:23 pm

Correct me if im wrong.
theoretically TF534 should support two IDE devices.
However, Your CF Adapter (and CF Card also) should be able to work as slave..
I know for sure this card supports this mode:
https://www.ebay.de/itm/4GB-CompactFlas ... 3415454786
The problem is to attatch CDROM to 44pin IDE ribbon - adapter is needed..
https://www.ebay.de/itm/IDE-44PIN-2-5-M ... 3398415630
Feel free to try and let us know, does it work or not
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
roy-forest-fc.goodall
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:06 am

Re: CDRom??

Post by roy-forest-fc.goodall » Thu May 02, 2019 10:32 pm

i have a slimline dvd rom drive here and the adaptor, i fitted one of these inside a 1200 a few yrs back

and was going to try something like one of these
http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_inf ... cts_id=194

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: CDRom??

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Fri May 03, 2019 5:07 am

this one can also do the job..
let us know your results
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2015
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: CDRom??

Post by terriblefire » Fri May 03, 2019 7:32 am

Let me know how you get on. Its not something that I would ever want to do myself but if there is an incompatibility i'd like to know...

I think you might want the IDEFix 97 software too... although i've never been sure what that does exactly.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: CDRom??

Post by supaduper » Fri May 03, 2019 8:56 am

IDEfix97(registered Version) will let you use the other channels on the Buffered interface shown earlier, it will set up a master/ slave condition on the primary port automatically so long as it has the drivers for the hardware , it is picky with CDroms so can be hit or miss with the Cdrom being recognized.

You will need an adapter like the one below but the 44 pin type is better as it uses the power from the Amiga IDE port

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Ablytech-Sli ... ctupt=true

User avatar
roy-forest-fc.goodall
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:06 am

Re: CDRom??

Post by roy-forest-fc.goodall » Fri May 03, 2019 9:44 pm

I think I still have a registered copy of IDEFix 97 that I bought when I had a 1200
have ordered an adaptor and will let you know how it goes

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: CDRom??

Post by supaduper » Fri May 03, 2019 11:01 pm

You will get the EIDE99 software then if you have ordered the adapter which is an updated version of IDEfix97 so you will have all the full fuctionality that came with the previous version

User avatar
roy-forest-fc.goodall
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Mar 08, 2019 12:06 am

Re: CDRom??

Post by roy-forest-fc.goodall » Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:12 pm

meant to post in here about cdrom drives
I cannot get them to work is the long and short of it

I have ide adaptor which will load the OS from sdcard or a cfcard but if I connect the cdrom to the slim to 40 pin ide connector it seems to disable DH0 and doesn't boot (the ide adaptor works with cdrom etc in a 1200 perfectly).
In the Amiga Early Setup Control it does not show DH0

but if I leave the slim to ide connector attached but no cdrom connected it will boot to workbench
and if I connect another sd/cf card etc to the 40 pin port it does not show up on workbench, but it will allow the sd/cf card in the 44pin socket to boot to workbench

I have tried a few slimline drives, all work on the 1200
and I have used the amiga floppy connector and also external floppy connector to power the cdrom and cards on the 40 pin ide

Post Reply

Return to “TF534 (OBSOLETE)”