Page 3 of 5

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:33 pm
by 8 Bit Dreams
4-layer lis a bit different to 2-layer boards, middle layers do obsorb much heat
As said - use preheater to avoid lifting pads,
If you do it right you don't need high temperatures, board is heated from bottom and removing such komponents like cpld is a pice of cake...

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:59 pm
by arkadiusz.makarenko
8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:33 pm
4-layer lis a bit different to 2-layer boards, middle layers do obsorb much heat
As said - use preheater to avoid lifting pads,
If you do it right you don't need high temperatures, board is heated from bottom and removing sych komponents like cpld is a pice of cake...
Preheater is on my list things to buy. :)

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:57 am
by Maximilian
8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:33 pm
use preheater to avoid lifting pads
What kind of preheater are you using?

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:26 am
by 8 Bit Dreams

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:22 pm
by arkadiusz.makarenko
I started working on board nr 2.

Should I install R2 ? I did find a note on schematics note about some resistor, and now I am confused a little.

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:22 am
by 8 Bit Dreams
All resistors and caps should be installed

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:18 am
by terriblefire
Maximilian wrote:
Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:57 am
8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:33 pm
use preheater to avoid lifting pads
What kind of preheater are you using?
My soldering iron is decent enough. I do need to put the temp up to to the ground pins i guess.

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 1:29 pm
by arkadiusz.makarenko
I completed build of second board, and I get EXACTLY the same output garbadge on serial output. This makes me think that I mostl likekly have bad CPU.
I have not installed RAM yet, but this shoudn't matter ? I still should see clear Diagrom output.

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:28 pm
by LADmachining
Have you checked that your serial link is working correctly using a standard board (e.g A500 with 68000) fitted with DiagROM?

Re: Arek's TF534 build

Posted: Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:57 pm
by arkadiusz.makarenko
Yup. Works all right on orginal CPU.