IDE2CF on TF vs WINUAE

TF534 - 68030 + More RAM Board (More compatible with amiga hardware)

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Bikerbob

IDE2CF on TF vs WINUAE

Post by Bikerbob »

Ok, please remember I am new to Amiga.

So I did manage to get WINUAE to run.. I have it setup as close to the A2000 hardware as I can..

Using the physical IDE2CF adapter through an IDE2USB on the PC I get 6.6mb for the transfer.

On the physical A2000 with the TF534 I am getting 700k.

With the SD2IDE I get about 6mb on either, but only using the image written by 8-bit dreams.. if I try and do my own 3.1.4 then I get the 700k again.

anyone have a suggestion as to what I am missing? Now I do understand that the CPU command is disabled in 3.1.4 and was told that I have to run a mmu install rather than just copy over the libs to get mmu working correctly.

Any comments there?

thanks
James
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team

Re: IDE2CF on TF vs WINUAE

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
Bikerbob

Post by Bikerbob »

I appreciate the response 8 bit Dreams, but I have the mmu package, but I seem to be finding conflicting descriptions of how much I need to do to get it to work. For example I read in the pkg, that all I have to do is copy over the .library files, and when I run sysinfo I see MMU there, but the speed on the IDE is still slow. Others have told me that is incomplete; that I need to run the install script. Others have said with this card I am better to go back to OS 3.1 and use CPU fastrom, which is what MMU replaced correct?

James
PaulJ_2.0

Post by PaulJ_2.0 »

That lha comes with an installer, why not just run it?
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

please run installer to get all working, it is needed to:
1. install mmu.library,
2. install µFastrom,
3. add it to startup sequence
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team