CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS (SEC 64MHz 68000)

Information and news about the 68SEC000 64MHz booster.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:59 pm

rpineau wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 10:17 pm
tested on both STE and MSTE
:bravo:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon Feb 19, 2018 10:24 pm

Tiny update.. PCB's finally arrived :thumbup: Need to do a order to mouser and get the ATF chip and some other bits next...

sec-pcb.jpg
sec-pcb.jpg (135.69 KiB) Viewed 2513 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:52 pm

Small update.. Parts now ordered for this.. I'm going to ship the three boards and parts to a place in the UK for assembly as I just do not have time to do it. So hopefully in a few days time I can get the boards back and actually start working on the firmware.

Just as a re-cap, this board is the 68SEC000 test board, so I can see what the maximum speed of the CPU is. I am hoping to get it running at 50-64Mhz.

Even if the CPU cannot manage much more than the 68HC000 PLCC CPU, I will likely still use the SEC simply due to it is smaller, and a proper SMT package. With all the problems I am having with sockets, I have no choice but to move to a direct soldered part anyway. So moving to the 68SEC000 CPU is basically a good move anyway.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Fri May 11, 2018 7:58 pm

PCBs finally arrived... next to find time to finish firmware and test it.. but likely will finish the plug in STE booster first...

sec1.jpg
sec1.jpg (62.54 KiB) Viewed 2204 times
sec2.jpg
sec2.jpg (73.29 KiB) Viewed 2204 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon May 21, 2018 12:46 pm

Finally cleared my table.. Now to work on the firmware..

IMG_2728.JPG
IMG_2728.JPG (184.39 KiB) Viewed 2139 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon May 21, 2018 7:19 pm

So something amiss, anyone any ideas whats going on here ?

:shrug:
dma.jpg
dma.jpg (83.84 KiB) Viewed 2126 times

EDIT:

I tried removing AVEC from my code just to see what happens, and diag-cart says autovector error.. so that much be working... but still no idea whats going on with the DMA errors unless some sort of bus grant issue :shrug:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by rpineau » Mon May 21, 2018 7:34 pm

$FFFFFC00 and $FFFFFC02 are adresses for Keyboard ACIA .. so there might be something going on with VPA/VMA there.
The 2 other one are code on the cartridge port.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon May 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Its odd, because I see activity on VMA, but not VPA or AVEC ... but VMA shouldn't go low without VPA being low to start with ?!
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by rpineau » Mon May 21, 2018 9:08 pm

Is the E clock running properly ?
AVEC should definitely do something on interrupt from the keyboard. But if we can't write to the ACIA it probably doesn't trigger interrupt yet.
So it's really around VMA/VPA
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10494
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: V2.5 BOOSTER CURRENT PROTOTYPE STATUS

Post by exxos » Mon May 21, 2018 9:22 pm

rpineau wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 9:08 pm
Is the E clock running properly ?
Looks good on scope..


rpineau wrote:
Mon May 21, 2018 9:08 pm
AVEC should definitely do something on interrupt from the keyboard. But if we can't write to the ACIA it probably doesn't trigger interrupt yet.
So it's really around VMA/VPA
No idea, I keep trying things, but no luck..

If I keep pressing reset, I see VMA pulse low.. though I half recall it does pulse more than VPA.. will have to re-read my notes tomorrow..

VPA I have trouble seeing any pulses.. but thats generated from GLUE anyway...

I don't get why diag-cart says DMA time out.. has nothing to do with CPU really :roll:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “SEC 64MHZ BOOSTER”