TF330 rev2 is here

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1849
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by terriblefire » Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:47 pm

ed_dream wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:20 pm
Hi terriblefire.

Can you answer the question?
1. What 68030 processors will work?
We have tested the MC68030RC and RP processors marked 33 and up. Including EC variants. No issues seen after the initial firmware glitches were sorted.

2. Will Motorola MC68030RC50B 68030 50MHz work? What else?
Yes. See answer 1.

3. The processor in the final version will stand on the panel?
I don’t understand the question. Rev 2 is hopefully the final version.

4. What type of processor case is planned in the release version?
No case is planned. This card is internal to the CD32.

5. Will there be extra power on the board? I and a few people would like to see the opportunity to connect a cd-rom from a laptop.
The work of staff сd-rum is not satisfactory.
You can use the 5V header but replacing the CD is not something I support or designed into the board. Mostly because the stock ROMs do not support IDE CD at all.
5. Do you need processors?
I have the following processors:
MC68EC020FG16
MC68EC020FG25
MC68EC030FE25B
MC68EC030FE25C
MC68EC040FE25A
MC68EC060ZU75
MC68LC040RC33
MC68LC060FE50

Thanks for your work.
Thankyou. I have all the processor I have room for!
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

ed_dream
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:04 pm

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by ed_dream » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:24 pm

sorry for my English

3. I mean the execution of the processor case.
Will the processor be soldered or removable?

4. PGA?

5. I understand you. But the reality is that there are almost no original spare parts. A cd drive is needed. I will not cut the original case. I am not idiot.


I will definitely buy this board as soon as it goes on sale. I waited a long time.

Thanks.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1849
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by terriblefire » Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:49 pm

ed_dream wrote:
Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:24 pm
sorry for my English

3. I mean the execution of the processor case.
Will the processor be soldered or removable?


Thats up to the builder. I presume the usual guys will put sockets on but you are free to build it how you want.


4. PGA?


It’s PGA yes.


5. I understand you. But the reality is that there are almost no original spare parts. A cd drive is needed. I will not cut the original case. I am not idiot.
CD Drive is a separate project. The lenses are easy to get. I think recreation of the drive controller would be useful at some point. I’d not make things too complicated by trying to solve the CD drive problem on a CPU board. It’s the wrong place.

It’s the classic reason why projects on the Amiga fail.. they try to do too much.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 476
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:33 am

Watched Your stream yesterday, seems all works as expected, wanna order some rev.2 pcbs if possible, also will need some KEL connectors again.. ;)
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1849
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by terriblefire » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:11 pm

Yeah it all works so far. about to try it in a machine with a CD drive.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 403
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by alenppc » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:14 pm

Stephen, can you also check if the Loadresident command fails at reboot?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1849
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by terriblefire » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:31 pm

alenppc wrote:
Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:14 pm
Stephen, can you also check if the Loadresident command fails at reboot?
I'll try over the weekend... The Grand Tour starts tonight so my evening is already allocated. :)
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1849
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by terriblefire » Fri Jan 18, 2019 6:47 pm

Confirmed working with CDs. Excellent.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 226
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by supaduper » Sat Jan 19, 2019 6:26 pm

Question : Whats better than one rev2 TF330 ?

Ans : Why two rev2 TF330`s of course ! :)

So Steve sent me these to build and all went great and just needed the Rev2 jed to get them running

also I used the `C` CPLD variant instead of the `I` one which you can use, its only a `Consumer` Vs `Industrial` difference and they will be slightly
cheaper.

Sorry its a bit Blurry but they are so fast I had trouble keeping them still :)

Amended Rev2 Bom and Build order attached below
Attachments
TF330 rev2 build order.txt
(483 Bytes) Downloaded 84 times
BOM_TF330 rev2.zip
(9.23 KiB) Downloaded 91 times
TF330 rev2 x2.jpg
TF330 rev2 x2.jpg (267.95 KiB) Viewed 1500 times

Pjeff18
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2019 9:36 am

Re: TF330 rev2 is here

Post by Pjeff18 » Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:15 am

Hi guys first post here so be gentle !

Great work Terrible Fire, I have a TF328 courtesy of Supadupa and wondered if you could let me know when the 330 is available to buy?

The 328 is a great bit of kit but looking forward to the 030 ooomph! I have a ACA1233n in my A1200 and it motors along nicely !

Cheers
Paul

Post Reply

Return to “TF330”