TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:55 am

juz400 wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:50 am
Is there space for buffering the H and V Sync signals like the Active 23wD to VGA adaptor has?
Have one of those adaptors but it puts a fair bit of weight on the Riser, with the adaptor and a chunky VGA cable it moves the top away from the CD32
making it a bit flakey in operation.
There is a reasonable amount of room here. its choosing the right chip. One that will not end up EOL next week is what is concerning me,.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

juz400
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 8:18 pm

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by juz400 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:15 am

I built one in the 90`s for a mate so he could use an NEC mutlisync on his A4000, IIRC we need a schmitt trigger inverter?

These are brand spanky new from On-Semi, pretty cheap too or should I look for a Dual model?
https://www.mouser.co.uk/ProductDetail/ ... 52B7cs0%3D

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Oct 14, 2020 12:08 pm

juz400 wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 10:15 am
I built one in the 90`s for a mate so he could use an NEC mutlisync on his A4000, IIRC we need a schmitt trigger inverter?

These are brand spanky new from On-Semi, pretty cheap too or should I look for a Dual model?
https://www.mouser.co.uk/ProductDetail/ ... 52B7cs0%3D
You dont want to invert the signal if you simply want to use the D23 as many of us do.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:08 pm

@arkadiusz.makarenko I have pushed all the changes to the branch. It includes a video buffer chip. Just needs checked over and we're good.
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (157.32 KiB) Viewed 157 times
EDIT: What did you change the HSE XTal for ?
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:04 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:08 pm
@arkadiusz.makarenko I have pushed all the changes to the branch. It includes a video buffer chip. Just needs checked over and we're good.

Capture.PNG

EDIT: What did you change the HSE XTal for ?
The same type, but 25Mhz.
This allows me to set up all clocks, including 48Mhz for USB. I am not sure if it will be 100% stable, as my stm32 Nucleo board was a little temperamental running 216Mhz saying that this board is very solid.

I had a look and initially I was a little bit worried about dropping number INTSIG, but then I realised that SPI lines can be used if those will not be in use.

LSI crystal footprint was little bit unusual as I always seen them in different cylindrical package ... I guess I spend too much time with cheap Chinese knockoffs :D
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:46 pm

arkadiusz.makarenko wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:04 pm
The same type, but 25Mhz.
This allows me to set up all clocks, including 48Mhz for USB. I am not sure if it will be 100% stable, as my stm32 Nucleo board was a little temperamental running 216Mhz saying that this board is very solid.
OK i'll use 25Mhz for the build.
I had a look and initially I was a little bit worried about dropping number INTSIG, but then I realised that SPI lines can be used if those will not be in use.
I've not removed any INTSIG lines.. instead i removed TXD/RXD from the ARM (that is the direct connection to the CD32 internal UART) and moved R/W, INTSIG8 and KB_DATA. DSACK0 has been dropped and A5 added. So things have moved but have not been lost.
LSI crystal footprint was little bit unusual as I always seen them in different cylindrical package ... I guess I spend too much time with cheap Chinese knockoffs :D
That may change but its the same package as the other one.

I think i'll order 5 assembled if you think this will work.

EDIT: updated the 32.Khz crystal footprint too.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:02 pm

5 ordered..
Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 23.01.43.png
Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 23.01.43.png (826.55 KiB) Viewed 118 times
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 625
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:22 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:02 pm
5 ordered..

Screenshot 2020-10-14 at 23.01.43.png

Wow, This went quickly!
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by kulamario » Thu Oct 15, 2020 1:23 am

Can I buy one for my self if is possible ?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3323
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF CD32 Riser Revision 2 Design Complete

Post by terriblefire » Thu Oct 15, 2020 8:41 am

kulamario wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 1:23 am
Can I buy one for my self if is possible ?
If it works you can get one of the 5 from me. I may send an extra to Arek and ask him to assemble for me as currently I have no solder station.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply

Return to “TF330”