TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4404
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by terriblefire » Tue Sep 14, 2021 9:59 pm

arkadiusz.makarenko wrote:
Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:27 pm
I poked software reset a little bit more, and it is consistent on my Amiga.
It affects both kickstarts, and non of software reset applications work with my TF1230.
I disconnected TF1230, and it did work again on vanilla amiga.
So far it looks like only I am affected by this issue?
Perhaps try some different values of R1. Its on the bottom of the board north of the CPU. It should be 1K.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4404
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by terriblefire » Tue Sep 14, 2021 10:06 pm

Ok i'm pretty happy. Here is my RC1.
tf1230r1_2021_09_14_RC1.zip
(11.19 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
I've been using this ehide.device
ehide_d2874a8 (1).tar.gz
(9.01 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
I've fixed everything i can reproduce. 030 enable now works. Speed is maxed out without taking liberties with timing.

Enjoy people.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Tue Sep 14, 2021 11:20 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Tue Sep 14, 2021 9:59 pm
arkadiusz.makarenko wrote:
Tue Sep 14, 2021 8:27 pm
I poked software reset a little bit more, and it is consistent on my Amiga.
It affects both kickstarts, and non of software reset applications work with my TF1230.
I disconnected TF1230, and it did work again on vanilla amiga.
So far it looks like only I am affected by this issue?
Perhaps try some different values of R1. Its on the bottom of the board north of the CPU. It should be 1K.
It was something doggy with my test image (I reused my old test A500 image). I suspect cpu fastrom command.
Now it works great! :)

Anyway sorry for false feedback.

RC1 - enable works great :) I am about to run some speed tests on cpu and ide :)
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 387
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by supaduper » Wed Sep 15, 2021 7:57 am

In the time honoured tradition here is a sysuselessinfo result pic LoL, it is comparable with the TF330.

I know you hate praise Steve but your work in the last few years has been prolific and phenomenal and the Amiga community has benfited hugely by bringing affordability to a scalpers paradise, cheers mate !

yivAqab.jpeg
yivAqab.jpeg (298.23 KiB) Viewed 217 times

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4404
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:18 am

Well... unless there are any more bugs my 030 days are over. :)
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:13 am

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:18 am
Well... unless there are any more bugs my 030 days are over. :)
What about Amiga 600? :P
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4404
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:34 am

There is no reliable way to do an A600 accelerator. So i will not do it.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 531
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:39 am

Plus the Furia exists as a low cost accelerator for the A600. It's not really something that needs to be addressed.

Danoo
Posts: 171
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by Danoo » Wed Sep 15, 2021 11:29 am

For those that are interested here is a more exact costing, I usually do a quick cost analysis before any project, I had the wrong CPLD in there originally, but I have amended it to the cheaper XC95144..

Some of these parts I already had from previous projects and their costs may have gone up or down a little since they were purchased.
I usually always order smaller parts in quantities of 10 or above for cost effectiveness.
Also you will notice the GST (Australian sales Tax) figure at the bottom, so costs will be different depending on your regions sales tax requirements (approx. + or - 10% I guess)

1230_cost.JPG
Costs (AUD)
1230_cost.JPG (96.2 KiB) Viewed 147 times

The PCBs I had manufactured by JLCPCB (Min amount 5 PCBs, will probably sell or give away the ones I don't use) they work out at just under $14 ea delivered(without passives attached) I don't mind soldering :lol:

So if you build it yourself, a A1200 50Mhz 030 accelerator with 64MB of Ram (128MB will cost a little more) without CPU, for $95 Aud (50GBP).
As I wrote earlier thank you very much terriblefire what a bargin :D
Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated - Confucius

User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1037
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF1230 Beta Interest (Open Source)

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Wed Sep 15, 2021 2:42 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Sep 15, 2021 10:34 am
There is no reliable way to do an A600 accelerator. So i will not do it.
Btw.
What was the cause that this card initially worked only on some board revisions or was it only related to ROM?
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

Post Reply

Return to “TF330”