DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderator: terriblefire

Post Reply
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:13 am

A very initial version of DiagROM for the ST is available here.

https://github.com/terriblefire/diagromst

Basically do not expect anything. It boots on my ST and I see the output on the serial port.

Have fun and please submit fixes.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:42 am

Awesome. Will try that out asap!

For those who don't know about this software.. First example is you can find faulty ram bits when the machine doesn't even boot up.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

czietz
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by czietz » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:00 am

exxos wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:42 am
For those who don't know about this software.. First example is you can find faulty ram bits when the machine doesn't even boot up.
In which regard is it preferable to the official Atari diagnostic ROM cartridge?

User avatar
crashman
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:55 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by crashman » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:04 am

The most evident, you don’t have to open the Atari to use
the diagnostic cartridge.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:05 am

czietz wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:00 am
In which regard is it preferable to the official Atari diagnostic ROM cartridge?
It depends what you want to do, DiagROM is more "low level" diagnostics, so you can boot these ROM's even on a machine which doesn't boot TOS or the Atari diagnostic rom.

Its ported from the Amiga by Terriblefire, so its much WIP here. But I have seen it in use and I think it will be a valuable tool for those who have machines with bad-ram installs and the machine doesn't boot up. DiagROM will let you debug low level stuff like RAM faults. AFAIK, no other software has ever been created to do that.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:06 am

crashman wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:04 am
The most evident, you don’t have to open the Atari to use
the diagnostic cartridge.
The point is, the diagnostic cartridge will NOT boot if the machine has bad ram or TOS isn't running.. so its basically useless. Diagrom will however boot on such machines.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

czietz
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by czietz » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:13 am

Atari diagnostic ROMs will also detect severe RAM faults that prevent TOS from booting. It will exactly show you which address or data line is stuck, for example. In fact, the Atari diagnostic will even start on a machine with zero RAM installed. (Of course, no video output there, just serial.)

Of course you're right that the first few bytes of the TOS ROMs need to be readable for the machine to jump into the diagnostic cartridge ROM. However, if you have to change ROMs anyway (like you would have to with this DiagROM), you could always insert a known working set of TOS ROMs and then boot into the Atari diagnostic cartridge.

It's sure nice that terriblefire ported this and released it as open-source, but right now I don't understand the use case for it.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:16 am

4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:19 am

If you dont want to use it then don't. I dont care. It works perfectly for my needs and I decided to share. The Diagnosis cart doesnt. It stops too quickly and is not interactive.

I use this ROM to bring up new 68000 machines and to figure out why my accelerators dont work. It detects things like broken UDS/LDS lines. Soak tests ram, and has an interactive editor for visually seeing what is going on.

It also does everything over serial port and video. So its perfect for a zero hardware working diagnosis.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:21 am

crashman wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:04 am
The most evident, you don’t have to open the Atari to use
the diagnostic cartridge.
There is absolutely nothing stopping someone from compiling this to a cart. Its open source.

Post Reply