DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderator: terriblefire

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:34 pm

Not using a cart, using it as the boot rom. Took out the tos rom and put in DiagROM, applied power gray screen, no serial.. same all computers.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6205
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:39 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:34 pm
Not using a cart, using it as the boot rom. Took out the tos rom and put in DiagROM, applied power gray screen, no serial.. same all computers.
Maybe your programmer is byte swapping the ROMs ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 784
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:41 pm

STE? or ST?

Anyways I have tested the 256K version in a real machine. I havent tested the 192K version in a real machine. So you might need to resplit the roms.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:56 pm

Checked the burn in the 16 bit eprom and all the text is readable so its not byte reversed.. This has to be something stupid!!

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6205
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sun Feb 10, 2019 11:04 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:56 pm
Checked the burn in the 16 bit eprom and all the text is readable so its not byte reversed.. This has to be something stupid!!
Post the file here and I will byteswap it for you if needs be.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Mon Feb 11, 2019 2:36 am

Heres the beginning and end of the file. I am burning it into a 27C4096 16 bit eprom. Looks fine to me. Compared it to a TOS 1.04 image and in both the text is readable. I didn't see any way to upload a binary.. :) :)

Image
Attachments
__UT.jpg
__UT.jpg (242.79 KiB) Viewed 321 times
__UT2.jpg
__UT2.jpg (157.97 KiB) Viewed 321 times

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 784
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:01 am

not sure how your setup is working but I had to byteswap the rom image to get it to work on the Amiga. My ST setup has hi and lo roms.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:31 pm

I'm burning the file as is into a 16 bit eprom. I do the same for TOS which I have compared to. Both files have the text readable which means both files are not byte swapped. I have done a byte swap and attempted execution with the same results. Out of curiousity what did you use to assemble the code? This is really strange..has to be something stupid...

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 784
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:01 pm

It was assembled with vasm. The code is assembly anyway.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 784
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:21 pm

Try using the rom with Hatari before going any further
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply