DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderator: terriblefire

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:22 pm

OK i just pushed an update that echo's to MIDI. I've not got midi in working yet so you need a keyboard or serial port to control it.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:30 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:22 pm
OK i just pushed an update that echo's to MIDI. I've not got midi in working yet so you need a keyboard or serial port to control it.
If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:36 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:30 pm
If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
Yeah it does this. If you actually get as far as the menu your machine is in pretty good shape.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 pm

I'll burn it to a couple of eproms ready tomorrow night.

What size are they 27c512?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:39 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:36 pm
exxos wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:30 pm
If it can do the basics tests automatically on boot and spit out the results, then that should be fine anyway.
Yeah it does this. If you actually get as far as the menu your machine is in pretty good shape.
Sweet. I would leave it at that for now then.. most likely some chip is failing to init preventing GEM from booting up, its just working out what...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:46 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:38 pm
I'll burn it to a couple of eproms ready tomorrow night.

What size are they 27c512?
There is a rom image for each machine type. Very much depends on what your machine is. I've provided HI and LO split binaries of each version too incase you have 2 roms on your machine variant.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Wed Sep 19, 2018 10:50 pm

Ok cool thanks. Will burn it to a couple of eproms for the diag cart and then use it once I've got to the bomb stage.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 3:04 pm

Just gave the STE ones a quick blast...

#crappycam TM




Via putty.

4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Atarian Computing
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:27 am

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Atarian Computing » Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:58 pm

K, this whole DiagROM is seriously cool. The Atari cart has it's use, it's awesome to test keys on keyboard, all the ports etc. But this takes it to another level. If this can be expanded to be a dead test cart as well it would be perfect. But I suppose it already is?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Thu Sep 20, 2018 6:02 pm

Atarian Computing wrote:
Thu Sep 20, 2018 5:58 pm
K, this whole DiagROM is seriously cool. The Atari cart has it's use, it's awesome to test keys on keyboard, all the ports etc. But this takes it to another level. If this can be expanded to be a dead test cart as well it would be perfect. But I suppose it already is?
Problem with the cart is it needs TOS to be partly working in order for the cart to boot...

With replacing the OS ROM's with this, it boots by itself and runs its own OS to do the tests. So it can debug lower level issues where the cartridge port may not even boot up.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply