DiagROM for ST

DiagROM software & help

Moderator: terriblefire

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by terriblefire » Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:05 pm

DiagROM now needs to be un-Amiga'd for more ST use.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Fri Nov 02, 2018 5:44 pm

I had the atari drag cart which enabled me to fix my first mega that had a bad memory chip and the screen was totally trash forcing me to rely on the serial port which worked fine. See below. I also purchased the wrap cables and board so I could have some confidence in the dma port working on the new board so I didn't trash my ultra satan drive and san disks. The cart worked well for me.

With that said it was designed for a technically challenged technican. The tests other than memory are go/no-go tests. They really don't even provide a good description of what the tests do to test functionality. They just provide pass/fail as an output. If you want to trouble shoot based on the failure its tuff when you don't know how the test functions. All in all I find the atari card quite useful but the DiagROM will provide additional abilities which I am planning to try. It will be an advantage to add tests and know exactly what those tests are doing. Believe I'll try a cart version first. If execution can't make it to the cart there's a good chance the code won't be able to hit the serial chip registers either. Looks like a nice tool.

Code: Select all

6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

ĸ
I2 RAM disturbance   0000000000000000 0100000000000000 000044
E9 Bad instruction fetch 
ĸ
I2 RAM disturbance   0000000000000000 0100000000000000 0007FE

I6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

ĸ

I6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

[Disconnected]
[Connected]
ĸ

I6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

ĸ
I2 RAM disturbance   0000000000000000 0100000000000000 000290ĸĸĸ
I2 RAM disturbance   0000000000000000 0100000000000000 0007F2

I6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

K
EB Bus Error  Access Address: FA0E28 Program Counter: FA4DEA

E9 Bad instruction fetch 
ĸĸĸ

I6 Testing Bus Error handling
No (I6) error

Keyboard failed, connect RS232 terminal

          Mega and ST Field Service Diagnostic Rev. 4.3
                     1990, Atari Corp.
     4M RAM   Keyboard rev. 0     60 Hz  Version 1.2 USA NTSC


     R RAM                  O O.S. ROM          C Color
     K Keyboard             M MIDI              S Serial Port
     A Audio                T Timing            D DMA Port
     F Floppy Disk          P Printer/Joy Ports H High resolution

     J Hard Disk Write/Read (use SH204/SH205/Megafile)
     G short BLiT test      Y long BLiT test
     L Real-time Clock
     X Expansion Connector

     Q Run all tests
     Z Run internal tests (R,O,C,K,A,T,L,G)

     E Examine/Modify memory
     B Set RS232 rate
     V toggle video output--50/60 Hz
     ? Help

     Enter letter(s), and RETURN: X
/code]

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:49 am

Have been going labeltastic with all the chips and SD cards around and labeled up the DiagRom. Unfortunately I smudged the edge applying it.

IMG_3221.png
IMG_3221.png (616.07 KiB) Viewed 147 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5109
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:53 am

I might one day get around to doing those 102/104 labels :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:13 am

That all looks far too organised to be associated with this mess I call a desk.

User avatar
Icky
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 818
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Icky » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:03 am

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:13 am
That all looks far too organised to be associated with this mess I call a desk.
I had to label things as I am losing stuff on my desk. They would be under or on things and I end up not knowing what is what.

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sat Nov 03, 2018 11:16 am

Good point. I need some of Exxos's labels so I know what is good or bad.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Sat Nov 03, 2018 2:33 pm

Icky wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:49 am
Have been going labeltastic with all the chips and SD cards around and labeled up the DiagRom. Unfortunately I smudged the edge applying it.


IMG_3221.png
Those look like some dam file labels!! I have all kinds of roms around here that are either Enlish or USA. Need to make some labels. I'm looking for 1.04/2.06... :excited: :excited: :excited:

Forgottenmyname
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 708
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by Forgottenmyname » Sun Dec 02, 2018 4:57 pm

Hi TF,

Just wondering if you'd managed to do any further work on this.

Works great on one of my Mega ST's but stops after resetting the screen on the other.

Great tool so far :-)

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 311
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: DiagROM for ST

Post by PaulJ » Sun Dec 02, 2018 5:24 pm

Yes, I've tried it on two mega's (fully funacional) and the ExoAtari (fully functional) and it works on none of them. I just assumed I had a bogus binary. The atari diag cart works on everything that I've tried it on. I know some people don't like it but it has worked great for me. One of my mega 4's didn't have a screen presentation when I got it and I was able to determine the bad memory chip and repair it using the cart and the serial console. As a matter of fact i purchased the associated test board and wrap cables to verified the DMA, serial, midi, and parallel port on the ExoAtari. It showed the bad bit on the parallel interface which I was able to fix. After I verified proper DMA port operation the I used the ultra satan it worked first attempt.

The atari cart biggest issue is theres not much info on the tests and its go/no-go test for the most part. Some tests have more failure info than others. The memory test does provide quite a bit of info but error reporting is dependant on the test.

I wanted to get the DiagROM running for additional debug data but after trying every binary I could find with no success I put it on the back burner.

Post Reply