ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Related information and WIP etc
User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PaulJ » Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:51 pm

Well awhile back I purchased a second IDE test board from Harry. Final got around to building it. Got rid of the unneeded extra sockets and nibbled out a notch so mega top would fit on. Runs great and works with all the previously tested devices.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
IMG_2187.jpg
IMG_2187.jpg (680.86 KiB) Viewed 660 times
Runs at 1410 kb/sec just as the other r boards does.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9076
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos » Fri Jul 12, 2019 6:07 pm

:bravo: :coolpics:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

DoG
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by DoG » Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:37 am

I changed my resistor packs on the address & data lines. Didn't do much. However, I moved the pins slightly inwards, on the plcc sockets, with a tool and cleaned them with IPA and now it seems to be stable. Tried the board in an other motherboard where I havn't made any chnges and it work fine in there as well. So bus resistor arrays wasn't needed to be changed. But can't hurt anyway so I'm happy.

So socket problem strikes again. Fun, fun, fun!

EDIT: Oh, I also swapped out the HC 68000 for a "normal" one. Just to make that clear.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1734
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by Icky » Sat Jul 13, 2019 11:15 am

DoG wrote:
Sat Jul 13, 2019 8:37 am
I changed my resistor packs on the address & data lines. Didn't do much. However, I moved the pins slightly inwards, on the plcc sockets, with a tool and cleaned them with IPA and now it seems to be stable. Tried the board in an other motherboard where I havn't made any chnges and it work fine in there as well. So bus resistor arrays wasn't needed to be changed. But can't hurt anyway so I'm happy.

So socket problem strikes again. Fun, fun, fun!

EDIT: Oh, I also swapped out the HC 68000 for a "normal" one. Just to make that clear.
:thumbup: Glad to see another one working. Socket madness is a right PITA.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:19 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 5:51 pm
Well awhile back I purchased a second IDE test board from Harry. Final got around to building it. Got rid of the unneeded extra sockets and nibbled out a notch so mega top would fit on. Runs great and works with all the previously tested devices.. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Runs at 1410 kb/sec just as the other r boards does.
Just building my second one of these, but I had a question.

Does the CPU have to be removed and placed in the IDE board, or will it work with the CPU still plugged in and a socket soldered on top and the IDE board plugged into that?

I ask because the Mega ST1 i picked up the other weekend has a socket soldered on top. If I plug the IDE board into the socket on top of the CPU, I just get a blank screen. Other devices like my PAK and ATOnce plug in fine and work.

The IDE board works fine in another STFM where it is plugged into a socket and the CPU is plugged into the IDE board.

Thoughts on a postcard please....
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9076
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:32 pm

CPU has to go on top of the IDE board.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by PaulJ » Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:33 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Tue Nov 26, 2019 6:19 pm

The IDE board works fine in another STFM where it is plugged into a socket and the CPU is plugged into the IDE board.

Thoughts on a postcard please....
Haven't tried that but its the the only way to know for sure since we don't have a schematic. You shouldn't hurt anything attempting that configuration but it should let you know if it's possible. I would remove the 68k and put in a socket. Having the socket on top is so ugly it makes me cringe so even if it worked I would change it buts that's personal preference.

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie » Tue Nov 26, 2019 10:29 pm

Cool, thanks folks looks like I'll be pulling the CPU and fitting a socket instead.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1601
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by rubber_jonnie » Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:56 pm

2nd board done, distinguished only by a slightly better job of some parts and a red LED. Red LEDs have some sort of nostalgia for me, seems like a lot of my Atari 8 bit stuff had big old red LEDs.
IMG_20191128_222655.jpg
IMG_20191128_222655.jpg (350.05 KiB) Viewed 177 times
As soon as my sockets arrive from exxos we'll see about running these fellas in my Megas.
Collector of old Atari things:
800XL + Ultimate 1MB, 2x 1010 cassette, 1050 + Happy mod, 65XE (128k +APE Warp) & XC12, SIO2SD, 2600jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Atari 520ST (1Meg), 1040STF long button floppy, 2x 1040 STFMs + Gotek, 2x 4160STE with 32Mhz booster, ROM switcher, Mega ST1, Mega ST4, not to mention various bare ST boards for testing including a PAK 68/2 :)
Plus the rest..
Amiga stuff, Mac stuff, Sinclair stuff etc...
www.electronicnothingness.co.uk

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9076
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ST-IDE-ROM Dev Board v1 - BETA Testers

Post by exxos » Thu Nov 28, 2019 10:58 pm

:bravo: :coolpics:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “MONGREL EDITION DEVELOPMENT & INFO”