True 16MHz Mode

New sub forum for version 2 of the STF remake board.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7119
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Sun May 26, 2019 11:52 am

Interesting.. RAM access being 199% is likely the cause. Try adding something like 2.2k pull up on dtack and see if it comes up to 200%.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Smonson » Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm

exxos wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:19 am
640x200x16 ;)
What we need now is a shifter which can make use of the extra bandwidth ;)
What needs to be done to get the HDMI mod working at 16MHz? I take it you are feeding the stock shifter with 64MHz to get it to output 32MHz to the MMU, same as Troed? I can give you a firmware file that outputs 32MHz instead of 16MHz with no hardware changes, if you like.

256-colour mode is supported in the mod board since about 9 months ago, but I've only been able to test it at 160x200 because I don't have a double-speed machine, and my mod doesn't want to work on Troed's machine.

Cyprian
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:16 am

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Cyprian » Sun May 26, 2019 2:39 pm

Smonson wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm
256-colour mode is supported in the mod board since about 9 months ago, but I've only been able to test it at 160x200 because I don't have a double-speed machine, and my mod doesn't want to work on Troed's machine.
planar or chunky?
and in what address range palette registers are?
Jaugar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
SDrive / PAK68/3 / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.appspot.com/

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7119
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Sun May 26, 2019 2:43 pm

Smonson wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm
What needs to be done to get the HDMI mod working at 16MHz? I take it you are feeding the stock shifter with 64MHz to get it to output 32MHz to the MMU, same as Troed?
No.. The shifter is still running at stock speed..
Smonson wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm
256-colour mode is supported in the mod board since about 9 months ago, but I've only been able to test it at 160x200 because I don't have a double-speed machine, and my mod doesn't want to work on Troed's machine.
oh cool, What I will do is build up a second remake board on the new batch and send it to you (but this will be some time away yet) .. then you can develop the extra video modes in your shifter :) We literally have 200% bandwidth to play with now.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Smonson » Sun May 26, 2019 3:26 pm

I don't have a donor machine (yet) - the chipset ICs on my ST are the QFP type. Anyway, I'm not very good at all the high-speed analogue stuff.

But I can make the HDMI mod board do whatever you need!
Cyprian wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:39 pm
planar or chunky?
It's one byte per pixel, although there's enough room in the resolution register to add another 16,382 more modes if someone wants planes.

I used a free shifter register for the upper 4 bits of the palette index, can't remember what address it was in ram off the top of my head. I think the TT has the same scheme.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1197
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Icky » Sun May 26, 2019 4:09 pm

exxos wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:43 pm
Smonson wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm
What needs to be done to get the HDMI mod working at 16MHz? I take it you are feeding the stock shifter with 64MHz to get it to output 32MHz to the MMU, same as Troed?
No.. The shifter is still running at stock speed..
Smonson wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 2:32 pm
256-colour mode is supported in the mod board since about 9 months ago, but I've only been able to test it at 160x200 because I don't have a double-speed machine, and my mod doesn't want to work on Troed's machine.
oh cool, What I will do is build up a second remake board on the new batch and send it to you (but this will be some time away yet) .. then you can develop the extra video modes in your shifter :) We literally have 200% bandwidth to play with now.
Or another option is I get the current STF Remake that I am slowly building built up with the 16MHz mode and send to Smonson?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7119
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Sun May 26, 2019 4:29 pm

Icky wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 4:09 pm
Or another option is I get the current STF Remake that I am slowly building built up with the 16MHz mode and send to Smonson?
That would speed up the shifter development no end.. But don't you need it tho?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Smonson » Mon May 27, 2019 9:03 am

I don't think you should go that far. The 256-colour mode is definitely working, so I'm not sure there's much other work to do, apart from hooking the clock up.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7119
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Mon May 27, 2019 10:19 am

Smonson wrote:
Mon May 27, 2019 9:03 am
I don't think you should go that far. The 256-colour mode is definitely working, so I'm not sure there's much other work to do, apart from hooking the clock up.
Medium res with 16 colours ;). Would be cool to ultimately get 640x400x16 as well :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Smonson » Mon May 27, 2019 11:45 am

exxos wrote:
Mon May 27, 2019 10:19 am
Medium res with 16 colours ;). Would be cool to ultimately get 640x400x16 as well :)
Med res with 16 colours is just mode 0 at double speed, and 640x400x16 is mode 0 at quadruple the speed, which is pushing your luck a bit :lol:

Post Reply