True 16MHz Mode

New sub forum for version 2 of the STF remake board.
User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Icky » Sun May 05, 2019 11:31 am

exxos wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:19 am
640x200x16 ;)

What we need now is a shifter which can make use of the extra bandwidth ;)
Nice - Once this final STF Remake is realised its going to be quite some machine.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7577
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Sun May 05, 2019 11:41 am

Icky wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:31 am
exxos wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:19 am
640x200x16 ;)

What we need now is a shifter which can make use of the extra bandwidth ;)
Nice - Once this final STF Remake is realised its going to be quite some machine.
Indeed.. If we all still alive by then :lol:

The mongral will be a huge step forward. Then all the mongrel fixes can go on the next board where hopefully we will have more FPGA cores running.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1701
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by PhilC » Sun May 05, 2019 12:09 pm

And with an FPGA and tweak to TOS, any resolution you like, as long as you have enough RAM.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7577
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Sun May 05, 2019 12:12 pm

PhilC wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 12:09 pm
And with an FPGA and tweak to TOS, any resolution you like, as long as you have enough RAM.
I would assume EMUTOS already has options for extra video modes.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1701
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by PhilC » Sun May 05, 2019 12:32 pm

Will find out after I've finally burnt a copy to Rom.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by troed » Sun May 05, 2019 11:27 pm

Icky wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 10:59 am
IMG_3796.jpg
So I have a piece of software that will make that videomode actually produce a workable desktop ... :)

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1312
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by Icky » Mon May 06, 2019 2:04 pm

troed wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 11:27 pm
So I have a piece of software that will make that videomode actually produce a workable desktop ... :)
Hi troed - Am interested in the software you have. I have read outposts around the extra modes and its very interesting.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7577
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Mon May 06, 2019 10:44 pm

16MHz vs Falcon.

IMG_4140.JPG
IMG_4140.JPG (100.83 KiB) Viewed 480 times

The int-div is a lot slower on the 68000 over the optimized 030.

EDIT:

I don't remember if the Falcon benchmark was with or without the waitstates on ROM...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1701
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by PhilC » Mon May 06, 2019 10:46 pm

Nothing your 50mhz cpu wont cure no doubt
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7577
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Mon May 06, 2019 10:48 pm

PhilC wrote:
Mon May 06, 2019 10:46 pm
Nothing your 50mhz cpu wont cure no doubt
Yeah, int-div probably work out about the same as the 030 CPU when the 68000 is running 50MHz.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply