True 16MHz Mode

New sub forum for version 2 of the STF remake board.
User avatar
dhedberg
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:21 pm
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by dhedberg » Mon May 06, 2019 11:25 pm

Congratulations! This is pretty awesome! Impressive work!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org. Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo MORE.

mikro
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by mikro » Tue May 07, 2019 6:44 am

I wanted to ask earlier but seeing the Falcon numbers made me nearly sure... don't you find that 1000% blitting increase suspicious? Now, compared to the Falcon, it's just a little over 100% (what I find believable) but what I certainly don't find believable is that Falcon has a 1000% faster Blitter than plain ST. :) (as the new Blitter has around 1150% speed increase against plain ST)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6950
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Tue May 07, 2019 8:30 am

mikro wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 6:44 am
I wanted to ask earlier but seeing the Falcon numbers made me nearly sure... don't you find that 1000% blitting increase suspicious?

No why ? It runs double the speed of a ST with blitter as expected. If you watching the video you can clearly see its running way faster than a ST with blitter (8MHz) .
mikro wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 6:44 am
Now, compared to the Falcon, it's just a little over 100% (what I find believable) but what I certainly don't find believable is that Falcon has a 1000% faster Blitter than plain ST. :) (as the new Blitter has around 1150% speed increase against plain ST)

A plain ST doesn't have a blitter, so the Falcon will be around 1000% faster than a ST on blittering because the ST doesn't have a blitter.

When blitter is added, you get around 650% increase in block copying. That's the whole point in the blitter, fast block copy. The CPU takes a lot of cycles to access RAM, the blitter does not, so you get huge speed gains of around 650%. Any benchmarks will show this. You can also confirm this with franks blitter demo where the CPU only manages something like 3 bobs, the blitter more like 20 ( I don't know exacts off hand, but go try it out).

In terms of ST with blitter at 16MHz , is basically the same as a 16MHz blitter on the falcon. Benchmarks show they are about the same as expected.. around 100% for both. A 16MHz ST with blitter runs at 1000%. A ST 8MHz with blitter runs at 650%.

So I don't really get the confusion ?
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

mikro
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by mikro » Tue May 07, 2019 12:32 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 8:30 am
So I don't really get the confusion ?
Oh, now I get it. I totally overlooked the fact that the reference ST doesn't have a Blitter! Thank you for the detailed explanation.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6950
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Tue May 07, 2019 1:31 pm

This is the Alpha mod board. As before, USA (or anyone really) may want to order these from OSH themselves...

I will be ordering some myself (can put some in my store) but its not worth USA guys paying postage just for this board..

16mhzAM.zip
(11.38 KiB) Downloaded 15 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

PhilC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1450
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by PhilC » Tue May 07, 2019 3:14 pm

But how good does the Frontier demo look? :D
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 617
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by PaulJ » Tue May 07, 2019 3:30 pm

Thanks Exxos.. :) :) :) So Is the issue with a normal STF just the dynamic memory.. Since it appears that the memory controller can run at the higher speed I'm wondering if a stf could be accelerated if it has Exxos's memory upgrade using the sim?

kodak80
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by kodak80 » Tue May 07, 2019 10:34 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 1:31 pm
This is the Alpha mod board. As before, USA (or anyone really) may want to order these from OSH themselves...

I will be ordering some myself (can put some in my store) but its not worth USA guys paying postage just for this board..


16mhzAM.zip
I am looking to order this board from OSH but was wondering if the blue gnd track in the image is supposed to be connected? I see the bottom has a GND fill, but this track seems odd?
16mhz-gnd.png
16mhz-gnd.png (4.99 KiB) Viewed 387 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 6950
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by exxos » Tue May 07, 2019 10:45 pm

kodak80 wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 10:34 pm
I am looking to order this board from OSH but was wondering if the blue gnd track in the image is supposed to be connected? I see the bottom has a GND fill, but this track seems odd?
Was probably just there while I hooked the via up to gnd or something thats all. The gnd fill gets rid of it anyway..

I do similar on loads of stuff like the remake board...

Its just making sure stuff goes where I want how I want.. and a "note" not to run any tracks over the signal on that layer as its a important trace not to chop up...
6.jpg
6.jpg (34.51 KiB) Viewed 380 times
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

kodak80
Posts: 113
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: True 16MHz Mode

Post by kodak80 » Tue May 07, 2019 10:55 pm

OK, thanks for confirming. Will get these ordered from OSH and then wait for them to arrive. :D
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.ataristreview.com

Post Reply