Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Related information and WIP etc
czietz
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by czietz » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:06 pm

In HDDRUTIL, right-click on the CF card in the "Available devices" window and select "Show details" from the menu. Does it show the correct capacity of your CF card?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:11 pm

czietz wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:06 pm
In HDDRUTIL, right-click on the CF card in the "Available devices" window and select "Show details" from the menu. Does it show the correct capacity of your CF card?
Oddly no ?

IMG_4509.JPG
IMG_4509.JPG (48.61 KiB) Viewed 1537 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3311
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by PhilC » Mon Aug 05, 2019 6:17 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:36 pm
PhilC wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 5:05 pm
And I know how you enjoy a puzzle. Looks like the card is possessed :evil: :twisted:
It must be using the "B-side" of the CF card.. that's my theory :lol:
Ah, yes, good tracks but not necessarily good enough to make the album..
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Mon Aug 05, 2019 8:48 pm

Investigating a new thought..

On the ST I have 1234 folder.. and this is what I get on the PC :lol: Can't feking win :lol: :roll:

1.jpg
1.jpg (14.06 KiB) Viewed 1511 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

czietz
Posts: 280
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by czietz » Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:02 pm

Seems something is still broken with the byte-swapping, then...

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:05 pm

czietz wrote:
Mon Aug 05, 2019 9:02 pm
Seems something is still broken with the byte-swapping, then...
Probably would help if I knew what I was doing to start with :)
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:00 am

I think what the problem is, is that the sector numbers are getting swapped as sometimes I get really crazy negative values in HD10 for drive side. Though I am only swapping the data register, not the sector registers or any others. I think this is why the ST partition ends up like half way on the drive as it thinks its sector zero but its got some other crazy value instead. As to why that's happening, no idea :(
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:21 pm

So the only way the ST & PC can see the partition is if I partition on the ST with WRITE ONLY byte swapping.. But then the ST & PC then display a folder on the ST created as "12345678" as "21436587"... but then that doesn't make sense as if the PC is byteswapped then surely it should come out correct and not match the filenames on the ST ?!

So byteswapping makes the partition work, but swaps the filenames... if I don't byteswap, the ST side works as normal, and then the PC doesn't see the partition.. so can't win either way :roll:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11337
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by exxos » Tue Aug 06, 2019 3:44 pm

Even more confused now..

So I byteswapped and created the partition.. then removed the byteswapping code, rebooted...

On the ST... I created a NEW1234 folder...

2.jpg
2.jpg (36.8 KiB) Viewed 1455 times

On the PC

1.jpg
1.jpg (15.65 KiB) Viewed 1455 times

The previous filename... and on the right the new filename created on the ST..

So now it works, WITHOUT byteswapping... :WTF:

So I looked in HD10 and now its enabled byteswapping by itself :WTF:

:dizzy:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3311
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Trudie - The Next IDE Board

Post by PhilC » Tue Aug 06, 2019 5:00 pm

Just a shot in the dark as I've not used CUPL yet but if it uses subroutines, is it possible you've missed a return or something?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

Post Reply

Return to “MONGREL EDITION DEVELOPMENT & INFO”