exxos IDE interface (untested)

Related information and WIP etc
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23782
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by exxos »

I am slightly confused over the CS0 and CS1 signals which are linked to A5.

According to the ATA spec, they are used to select upper or lower 8bit bank select in the drive. Fair enough.. but the CPU has a 16bit bus, so why doesn't the data transfer as a 16bit block ?!

The CPU would actually have to do 2 bus cycles I assume to change the A5 for upper and lower 8bits ? Would seem a bit pointless having a 16bit drive and interface, and yet its looking like its driven as a 8bit device :shrug:

EDIT:

I think half the confusion is coming from this site...
http://blog.retroleum.co.uk/electronics ... interface/

It says
When /CS0 goes low, registers 0-7 are accessed, and when /CS1 goes low 8-15 are accessed.
Then later says.
Tip: You typically dont need to access IDE registers 8 to 15 so /CS1 can just be pulled high via a resistor.
So I am assuming the transfer is actually 16bit and CS1 may not actually get used for anything...

EDIT2:

OK http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu/viewdoc/do ... 1&type=pdf
Chip Select (CS0:1) - Selects the command block or control block registers.
Why couldn't some site or document have actually just said that :roll:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
rpineau
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by rpineau »

Do not mistake register number to data bit on the bus
Register 0 to 7 are 16 bit register, and so are register 8 to 15 and they are accessed as 16 bit registers even if only the lower 8 bit contain actual data for some register.
So CS0 and CS1 select the register bank, not the bus width.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3994
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by Icky »

Small update:

We have been playing with a DEV IDE board and have had the IDE interface being recognised using the PLD circuit we have been tweaking.

st-ide.jpg
st-ide.jpg (146.77 KiB) Viewed 4570 times

Now we are moving onto a more final version that will also have TOS 2.06 Rom onboard.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 23782
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by exxos »

exxos really like that board! :bravo:
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?
Just because a lot of people agree on something, doesn't make it a fact. ~exxos ~
People should find solutions to problems, not find problems with solutions.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by PhilC »

Sign me up already :D
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
User avatar
rubber_jonnie
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10628
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 7:40 pm
Location: Essex
Contact:

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by rubber_jonnie »

Oooh, nice.
Collector of many retro things!
800XL and 65XE both with Ultimate1MB,VBXL/XE & PokeyMax, SIDE3, SDrive Max, 2x 1010 cassette, 2x 1050 one with Happy mod, 3x 2600 Jr, 7800 and Lynx II
Approx 20 STs, including a 520 STM, 520 STFMs, 3x Mega ST, MSTE & 2x 32 Mhz boosted STEs
Plus the rest, totalling around 50 machines including a QL, 3x BBC Model B, Electron, Spectrums, ZX81 etc...
redhawk668
Posts: 91
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2018 3:03 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by redhawk668 »

Oh my, that looks nice!
My collection: 1040 STE, TOS 2.06, 4 mb, CosmosEx - 520 STFM, TOS 1.04, 4 mb, Blitter, CosmosEx - 520 STFM, TOS 1.04, 4 mb - 1040 STF, TOS 1.04, 1 mb, Gotek - Amiga 1200 with Blizzard 1220/4 - Amiga 500 + ACA500 - Amiga 500 + TF530, 1 mb chipram hack.

Atari 8 bit: 800XLF, stock - 600XL, Ultimate 1 mb, Sophia RGB - 130XE, 320 kb, Sophia RGB

Sinclair stuff: 3x Spectrum 48KB, Clones: Harlequin, JS128, Nuvo128 and Issue3B replica.

Ultimate64, a few C64 breadbins and Pi1541 for storage.
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3994
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by Icky »

We have been doing a lot of testing and finding out some interesting things around the PIO modes and driver interactions with IDE devices at initialisation.

However the tests we are performing to check the interface and devices are working have been captured in this video.



This is our definition of a working IDE Interface and Device as test steps. If we can get to the bottom of the list then the IDE interface and Device is working. Definition of Device is SD IDE Adaptor with card or CF IDE Adaptor with card:
  1. Boot up ST
  2. Boots off of Floppy with HDDriver 10.14
  3. Driver sees IDE interface and Device. Device is displayed correctly
  4. Load HDDUtil from floppy
  5. Partition Device into 9 partitions that are <500MB as TOS partitions
  6. Reboot after partitioning
  7. Boots off of Floppy with HDDriver 10.14
  8. Driver sees IDE interface and Device. Device is displayed correctly
  9. Partitions are recognised by the driver
  10. Once at desktop go to preferences and change res to medium, install devices and make sure all partitions are present and save desktop
  11. Open C: and create a folder called HDD and go into it
  12. Open A: which is still the HDDriver 10.14 files and copy all files and folders from A: into C:\HDD
  13. Go to C:\HDD and run HDDUtil to see if it loads correctly from HDD
  14. Once in HDDUtil install HDDriver on C:
  15. Go back to C: and copy C:\HDD to D:, E: & F:
  16. Delete the folder HDD from D;, E: & F:
  17. Reset ST and it should boot directly from Device and not floppy
User avatar
Icky
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3994
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by Icky »

Update: We have ROM.

This is the latest version of the board which has a few tweaks and inclusion of ROM so you can select which version of TOS to run.

C74D3BFF-99B4-429B-82B3-C51272351385.jpeg
C74D3BFF-99B4-429B-82B3-C51272351385.jpeg (198.07 KiB) Viewed 4549 times

We now need to send off to get a few boards made so we can test further before looking at the final version of this board.
User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: exxos IDE interface (untested)

Post by PhilC »

Let me know if you need another Guinea pig.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.
Locked

Return to “H4 MONGREL EDITION DEVELOPMENT & INFO”