TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

News & updates for the upcoming 68060 accelerator

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

markus0321
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:42 am

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by markus0321 » Mon Dec 27, 2021 9:50 pm

CrazyC wrote:
Mon Dec 27, 2021 6:28 pm
I don't understand - I don't think I am stressing my card enough - what is the best way of testing it? (as I am told the CPUs vary by chip exactly what they can take).
POVRAY_TEST.zip
(1.06 MiB) Downloaded 19 times
Test it with the povray script. I made a FPU version. I downloaded this script once from a thread on testing TF536. If the test is correct for the non FPU script and incorrect for FPU, it means that the processor is faulty, not the TF1260 card.

CrazyC
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2021 10:17 am

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by CrazyC » Tue Dec 28, 2021 11:29 am

@markus0321 cheers but I dont think there is any issue as such with my card or cpu, the results I was getting in terms of heat etc were just too good (or so I thought).
Ran the amiquake time demo which booted me back to workbench after 20 mins at 100mhz, but that might not be related, as I then played Amiquake at 100 mhz for an hour and none of the chips exceeded 38 degrees even with the case closed up.
Perhaps it really is that good and I can simply run with heatsinks only and not worry about adding extra cooling to cope with 100 mhz.
Thanks Steven - this is an amazing card.
EDIT: After another hour or so playing various other similar games to quake I got the cpu up to 46 degrees. (Which is obviously fine

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4749
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by terriblefire » Tue Dec 28, 2021 11:32 am

CrazyC wrote:
Tue Dec 28, 2021 11:29 am
@markus0321 cheers but I dont think there is any issue as such with my card or cpu, the results I was getting in terms of heat etc were just too good (or so I thought).
Ran the amiquake time demo which booted me back to workbench after 20 mins at 100mhz, but that might not be related, as I then played Amiquake at 100 mhz for an hour and none of the chips exceeded 38 degrees even with the case closed up.
Perhaps it really is that good and I can simply run with heatsinks only and not worry about adding extra cooling to cope with 100 mhz.
Thanks Steven - this is an amazing card.
You won the silicon lottery. Others will struggle and might need the voltage tuned.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

markus0321
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:42 am

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by markus0321 » Tue Dec 28, 2021 2:49 pm

I soldered three for myself and all three are working fine at 100MHz. The condition is a processor that works stably without increasing the voltage above 3.3V. The problem in the rev6 processors of those I have is not the ALU, but the FPU, because I have only one unit in which the ALU & PFU are fully stable at 100MHz clock speed.
As for me, the TF1260 card is amazing. :-)

richx
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by richx » Fri Dec 31, 2021 3:54 am

markus0321 wrote:
Mon Dec 27, 2021 9:50 pm

POVRAY_TEST.zip

Test it with the povray script. I made a FPU version. I downloaded this script once from a thread on testing TF536. If the test is correct for the non FPU script and incorrect for FPU, it means that the processor is faulty, not the TF1260 card.
Looks like your mod is using the generic FPU binary, the original Povray script was already for 060-FPU (https://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=100942) and uses Povray 3.1 and the 060-FPU specific binary :-)

For the TF536 thread no-FPU script version (https://exxoshost.co.uk/forum/viewtopic ... 717#p46717), I had to switch to Povray 3.0, as the Povray 3.1 CPU-only binary would guru for some of the scenes.

If I remember correctly, the md5sums that are used to check the file integrity can differ between the software/no-FPU and hardware/FPU floating point calculations.
Attachments
povray31_060_test_script.lha.zip
(716.5 KiB) Downloaded 14 times
povray30_nofpu_test_script.lha.zip
(804.19 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

matt020
Posts: 237
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by matt020 » Fri Dec 31, 2021 7:24 am

Are the contents of the files there ready to go, or do I need other software/app installed first?
Can I just unzip, unlha, and run?

richx
Posts: 45
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by richx » Fri Dec 31, 2021 2:49 pm

matt020 wrote:
Fri Dec 31, 2021 7:24 am
Are the contents of the files there ready to go, or do I need other software/app installed first?
Can I just unzip, unlha, and run?
Yes, just run the script_* from a shell, povray binaries and selected scene files, md5sum and visage viewer from aminet are included.

markus0321
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:42 am

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by markus0321 » Fri Dec 31, 2021 7:32 pm

richx wrote:
Fri Dec 31, 2021 2:49 pm
matt020 wrote:
Fri Dec 31, 2021 7:24 am
Are the contents of the files there ready to go, or do I need other software/app installed first?
Can I just unzip, unlha, and run?
Yes, just run the script_* from a shell, povray binaries and selected scene files, md5sum and visage viewer from aminet are included.
This test, which I included earlier, is probably the same, only both versions in one archive, but I calculated the md5 sums myself and I added the FPU version myself by downloading from Aminet. I did not know that someone else did it on EAB ... :-) it does not change the usefulness of this test because it works correctly at 50Mhz, the FPU version always passes without errors and at 100Mhz it falls on some pieces 060 rev6

nzo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2022 4:20 pm

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by nzo » Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:19 pm

Hello!
First post, I didn't find a Q/A topic for TF.
I have a rev 1D1 A1200 with KS 3.0. Is it OK for a TF1260 (with full 060)? Chucky told me that under KS3.0 the fast mem doesn't recognized. Will it be solved later? A local Amigo told me that his TF1230 won't work in his rev 1D1. Is this also the situation for the TF 1260 or it will work 100%?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4749
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: TF1260 New Firmware Alpha Released!

Post by terriblefire » Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:55 pm

nzo wrote:
Sat Jan 01, 2022 5:19 pm
Hello!
First post, I didn't find a Q/A topic for TF.
I have a rev 1D1 A1200 with KS 3.0. Is it OK for a TF1260 (with full 060)? Chucky told me that under KS3.0 the fast mem doesn't recognized. Will it be solved later? A local Amigo told me that his TF1230 won't work in his rev 1D1. Is this also the situation for the TF 1260 or it will work 100%?
The KS3.0 issue is a design decision. It’s not a “problem”. The choice was either KS3.0 support or mediator support. I chose to support the latter. This should have been disclosed to you before you bought the card. Just upgrade.

I have a 1D1 with NTSC that works fine with both 1230 and 1260. It initially did not until i discovered a trace was broken to the expansion connector. I’m inclined to think this is the issue on 1D1s that have never had an accelerator in them.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

Post Reply

Return to “TF360”