TF536 on the ST

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3093
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Fri May 29, 2020 7:58 am

@terriblefire no problem running Frontier on 534 but 536 crashes for me too.

I have been working on a relocator for the STFM will post details when back from work later.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

agranlund
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:43 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by agranlund » Fri May 29, 2020 8:32 am

@terriblefire Frontier runs nice and smooth here on the 534, with glorious beep-boops from the YM chip :)

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by terriblefire » Fri May 29, 2020 10:45 am

agranlund wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 8:32 am
@terriblefire Frontier runs nice and smooth here on the 534, with glorious beep-boops from the YM chip :)
Pretty sure there is an interrupt issue then. I will drop the TF534 code from your repo in to see if it works later.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3093
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Fri May 29, 2020 4:05 pm

@terriblefire here's the simple relocator id been working on. Was going to wait for feedback before ordering any.
20200529_160118.jpg
20200529_160118.jpg (530.18 KiB) Viewed 759 times
20200529_160132.jpg
20200529_160132.jpg (573.84 KiB) Viewed 759 times
My other thought was to fo a right angled adaptor that would then make the ide point towards the rear.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun May 31, 2020 7:07 pm

TF536 progress,

Frontier hits address 0x(FF)FF0808 ... and gets a time out bus error on this. Doesnt appear that it should be doing this so..

Its absolutely 100% repeatable so i'm guessing something upstream is doing something wrong?
0808.JPG
0808.JPG (56.03 KiB) Viewed 711 times
EDIT: There is something familiar about this bug. I wish the atari-forum was up because i think ive fixed this before.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2770
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by terriblefire » Sun May 31, 2020 7:51 pm

There's yer problem mate.
problem.JPG
problem.JPG (57.7 KiB) Viewed 705 times
Bloody long running DTACKs.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10894
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by exxos » Sun May 31, 2020 9:06 pm

DTACK is low a really long time on sound access. I bypassed the GLUE decoding and did my own in my SEC booster to fix sound issues.

viewtopic.php?f=82&t=45&p=17533k#p17539
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun May 31, 2020 10:18 pm

PhilC wrote:
Fri May 29, 2020 4:05 pm
@terriblefire here's the simple relocator id been working on. Was going to wait for feedback before ordering any.

20200529_160118.jpg

20200529_160132.jpg

My other thought was to fo a right angled adaptor that would then make the ide point towards the rear.
Oh,
I do have something like this already here... 🤔
Attachments
1590959859437-629177750.jpg
1590959859437-629177750.jpg (104.13 KiB) Viewed 674 times
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3093
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Sun May 31, 2020 10:20 pm

@8 Bit Dreams yeah that'll probably fit.

My TF536 will either be used on a Mega ST or the H4, so I don't really need to worry about the adaptor board
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 594
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun May 31, 2020 10:25 pm

Just need to check does it really fit or not,
It's open source, will find a link to it and post it here later..

PS
What's the easiest way to update to 2.06? Still haven't done it...
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”