TF536 on the ST

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Sat Jun 20, 2020 11:28 am

terriblefire wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:18 am
The TF536 has 5V line driver on the data bus but not all pins are buffered.

E clock will be 3.3v for example.
Ok thanks for the info. The TF536 is destined for back on the H4 and the TF534 will go back into my Mega. I only use that Mega for testing stuff and for transferring stuff as its networked.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

WiseGreasyBastard
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:41 am

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by WiseGreasyBastard » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:30 pm

PhilC wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:05 am
exxos wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:04 am


Megas are a pita , its why I did the mega buffer board.
Yeah but I was just surprised that the TF534 worked but the TF536 didn't is all.
You're worrying me.
I was planning to test my first tf536 build in a mega. Is this unwise?

What is definitely unwise is letting your only 100MHz SIT8008B ping off the bench. It's gone now, forever :(

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:40 pm

@WiseGreasyBastard im sure I can make it work on a Mega eventually but right now I'm testing them on an H4 or in an A500
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2765
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by terriblefire » Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:43 pm

Would strongly recommend NOT bringing any board up on a machine that its not tested on properly.

A500 or H4. I woudlnt even bring it up on a 2000 or CDTV.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

WiseGreasyBastard
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:41 am

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by WiseGreasyBastard » Mon Jun 22, 2020 11:42 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 9:43 pm
Would strongly recommend NOT bringing any board up on a machine that its not tested on properly.

A500 or H4. I woudlnt even bring it up on a 2000 or CDTV.
My plan was to refurb the PSU and replace the two or three small electrolytics on the Mega board. Soak test it to make sure it's fine and then put the tf536 board in it. I can just as easily bring an STFM up the same way first and run with the Mega for the second build.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3083
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by PhilC » Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:51 am

@WiseGreasyBastard you might have more luck than me with the Mega but as TF has said, his worked on an STFM, so for me its a case of grabbing the scope and working out what I need to change etc.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

WiseGreasyBastard
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2020 12:41 am

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by WiseGreasyBastard » Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:58 pm

STFM first it is. Then see how it goes in a Mega. I think I have three Megas, so hopefully I have more than one board revision to test with.

I still haven't found my oscillator though :roll:

Umberto1st
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Sep 27, 2017 6:27 pm

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by Umberto1st » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:41 am

Got my Mega working with the TF536, swapped out the bus pullups with 2.2k arrays and swapped out the 74LS373 with 74AS373. Slightly faster latches on mdata. Made all the difference

tuxie
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 11:51 am

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by tuxie » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:18 am

Better is you use F Types instead AS, AS can course strange issues! Of course the F types are very rare but the best choice !!!

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10882
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: TF536 on the ST

Post by exxos » Tue Jun 30, 2020 10:21 am

LS types should only be used. Faster chips like "F" and "ABT" etc cause issues.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”