The TF536 on a CDTV (Project Abandoned)

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

utri007 wrote: Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:11 pm I have made a lots of testing with burned CDs with CDTV. I have tested at least 4 different CD burners and burned CDs only works IF you burn them max 5x speed. Burning CDs with 32x wount work. There is no sensible explanation for this, I know.
I burned my CDs at 1x speed.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

I tried patching cdtv.device... no joy.

However I did exchange some emails with Toni Willen and he suggested patching cdfs.device

Code: Select all

CODE:000031BC ; =============== S U B R O U T I N E =======================================
CODE:000031BC
CODE:000031BC
CODE:000031BC sub_31BC:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_7A0+6A↑p
CODE:000031BC                                         ; sub_F24+1A↑p ...
CODE:000031BC
CODE:000031BC arg_0           =  4
CODE:000031BC
CODE:000031BC                 move.l  d2,-(sp)
CODE:000031BE                 move.l  4+arg_0(sp),d0
CODE:000031C2                 move.l  #$10001,d1
CODE:000031C8                 addq.l  #4,d0
CODE:000031CA                 addq.l  #8,d0
CODE:000031CC                 move.l  d0,d2
CODE:000031CE                 movea.l (byte_4).w,a6
CODE:000031D2                 jsr     -$C6(a6)
CODE:000031D6                 tst.l   d0
CODE:000031D8                 beq.s   loc_31E0
CODE:000031DA                 movea.l d0,a0
CODE:000031DC                 move.l  d2,(a0)+
CODE:000031DE                 move.l  a0,d0
CODE:000031E0
CODE:000031E0 loc_31E0:                               ; CODE XREF: sub_31BC+1C↑j
CODE:000031E0                 move.l  (sp)+,d2
CODE:000031E2                 rts
CODE:000031E2 ; End of function sub_31BC
CODE:000031E2
Recon that one might be the badger. thats MEMF_CLEAR | MEMF_PUBLIC

So this is at address 0xF38706
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

Yup,

That works. Please donate to WinUAE if you were looking for TF support on the CDTV.
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (78.53 KiB) Viewed 7359 times
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
utri007
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by utri007 »

Great! How tight this is tied to version of cdfs.device?

Most of us has v 2.3 or 2.7 of extended roms. I have a 2.3 because it doesn't cause red tinted screen if floppy drive is not connected.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

Its completely tied to the ROM. IMHO you should update the ROM rather than patch on the fly. I can give out a binary patch list for both ROM types eventually.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
ed_dream
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 12:04 pm

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by ed_dream »

All my cd-r writing on 10x, and this works.
But my cdtv new condition. Not working really. Stay on table 20 years.
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

I've dug a little deeper into some issues @8 Bit Dreams reported.

Looks like there are more AllocMem()'s in the boot loader code. I'll have to find them and patch them.

Is here a standard format for distributing Amiga Binary Patches? Fogive my ignorance as i really dislike patching binaries.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

terriblefire wrote: Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:22 pm I've dug a little deeper into some issues @8 Bit Dreams reported.

Looks like there are more AllocMem()'s in the boot loader code. I'll have to find them and patch them.

Is here a standard format for distributing Amiga Binary Patches? Fogive my ignorance as i really dislike patching binaries.
I created a script to scan for all places that allocate memory (that dont take the mem type as a parameter to a function) ...

Code: Select all

patch address 00f00452 with 0x0002
patch address 00f00504 with 0x0002
patch address 00f008b2 with 0x0002
patch address 00f008f4 with 0x0002
patch address 00f00df0 with 0x0002
patch address 00f01a7e with 0x0002
patch address 00f01e64 with 0x0002
patch address 00f07662 with 0x0002
patch address 00f092e4 with 0x0002
patch address 00f09342 with 0x0002
patch address 00f09446 with 0x0002
patch address 00f0a740 with 0x0002
patch address 00f0a872 with 0x0002
patch address 00f0ae12 with 0x0002
patch address 00f0d372 with 0x0002
patch address 00f0d472 with 0x0002
patch address 00f38706 with 0x0002
patch address 00f38d86 with 0x0002
patch address 00f00db8 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0407c with 0x7202
patch address 00f089ba with 0x7202
patch address 00f0a004 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0a168 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0ab54 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0acca with 0x7202
patch address 00f0eef6 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0ef10 with 0x7202
patch address 00f0ef2a with 0x7202
patch address 00f0ef42 with 0x7202
patch address 00f10e88 with 0x7202
patch address 00f3b232 with 0x7202
There is a few of them.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 5368
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire »

patched all those locations and no joy. Wonder if the main KS alloc's any ram for disk buffers early on.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."
User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 785
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams »

played with TF536 + SCSI Hard Disk Drive
As expected - computer boots from TF card if CF is present, SCSI shows up, however partition isn't recognised..
Retro computer hardware & repair in Germany
Locked

Return to “TF536”