The TF536 on a CDTV

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:20 pm

OK i have a hunch i know whats up.
dma.JPG
dma.JPG (53.22 KiB) Viewed 309 times
Looks like the CDTV is trying to DMA into fastram. thats never going to work.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:32 pm

Yup... thats the issue... with no fastram...

Code: Select all

5.System:Storage/DOSDrivers> copy CD0 devs:dosdrivers/
5.System:Storage/DOSDrivers> mount cd0:
ERROR: Could not find some of the following keywords:
       Surfaces, BlocksPerTrack, LowCyl, HighCyl, Device.
5.System:Storage/DOSDrivers> dir
  AUDIO                            AUDIO.info
  CD0                              CD0.info
  CF0                              CF0.info
  devs                             DM0
  DM0.info                         MS0
  MS0.info                         MS1
  MS1.info                         PC
  PC.info                          PC1
  PC1.info                         PF0
  PF0.info                         PF1
  PF1.info                         RAD
  RAD.info
5.System:Storage/DOSDrivers> cd cd0:
5.Octamed:> dir
     C (dir)
     Demos (dir)
     devs (dir)
     Expansion (dir)
     fonts (dir)
     l (dir)
     libs (dir)
     Locale (dir)
     Midi (dir)
     Modules (dir)
     OctaMED V6 (dir)
     Pics (dir)
     Prefs (dir)
     s (dir)
     SID2 (dir)
     Storage (dir)
     System (dir)
     T (dir)
     Text (dir)
     Tools (dir)
     Utilities (dir)
     Walkabout (dir)
     WBStartup (dir)
     XPKGuide (dir)
  ASSIGN-OCTAMED                   ASSIGN-OCTAMED.info
  Demos.info                       Devs.info
  Disk.info                        Expansion.info
  FixColors                        FixColors.info
  Installation                     Installation.info
  NET-ASSIGN                       NET-ASSIGN.info
  OctaMED V6.info                  Prefs.info
  RBF▒                             README.TXT
  README.TXT.info                  RMTM
  Shell                            Shell.info
  Sid                              Sid.info
  SID2.info                        Storage.info
  System.info                      Tools.info
  Trashcan.info                    UNASSIGN
  UNASSIGN.info                    Utilities.info
  Walkabout.info                   WBStartup.info
5.Octamed:>
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:33 pm

So now i need to figure out how to get the driver to use chip ram only and we're good. Or mark my ram as non-dma somehow.
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (98.98 KiB) Viewed 305 times
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:24 pm

Wow!
A huge step forward..

is this:
http://coppershade.org/articles/Code/Reference/DMACON/
Something we can use?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:31 pm

Don’t think so. That’s AGNUSes DMACON
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:10 pm

So in order to make this work we need to patch the call that allocates RAM for the scsi buffers
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:31 pm

Im in. Where is it located? extended rom?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 5:52 pm

Looks like it. I'd expect it to AllocMem then set the address in DMAC. Seems like its separate from the disk buffers that get allocated in the mountlist as the mountlist BufMemType makes no difference to the type of ram allocated.

Anyways that was a useful exercise because i got the bus ARB nailed.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:03 pm

Is it possible to make TF520 work on CDTV?
that would give us a little boost ;)

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 1154
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: The TF536 on a CDTV

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jun 16, 2019 6:32 pm

It should already with the TF534 sources.

EDIT: but its not faster than a standard 68000.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

Post Reply