TF536 on A300/A600

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

TF536 on A300/A600

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sat Jul 06, 2019 1:09 am

TF536 on A600
CPU: 030
FPU: No
RAM: 64MB
IDE: Yes, GAYLE emulated
SPI: No
FlashROM: No
Fit without Relocator: No
Relocator: No, Beta only, designed by Kludge memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=382, need to be redesigned!

Tested TF536 in A600 with help of a relocator designed by our forum member Kludge. He was very kind and sent me one for testing purposes. This relocator was initially designed for TF530/TF534, so no wonder TF536 not fit, even more, we didn’t knew what to expect from this, actually we wasn’t even sure will it work… But to my surprise – IT WORKS! And it does nice and stable. No glitches, no problems AT ALL. It just works as it was designed for A300/A600…
Same as on A500 - dimensions of the TF536 accelerator are slightly different, so relocator should be redesigned to fit the card and be able to close housing properly. This will be very tricky, since space in A600 is VERY limited. There is also keyboard ribbon in way that makes this task even worth..

As about TF536 itself - it works just as it should, nice and stable without any crashes or unexpected gurus. Haven’t stumbled on any bugs till now. Even IDE is slightly faster than on A500 - 1.4MB/s out of the box. I think it's because of onboard GAYLE chip.. Haven’t managed to let muFastROM to work. Let me know how to install MMULibs correctly.. Have no idea which hardware should i test.. maybe PCMCIA? :idea: :P
20190705_205109.jpg
20190705_205109.jpg (338.44 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_210021.jpg
20190705_210021.jpg (252.23 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_210006.jpg
20190705_210006.jpg (222.49 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_205947.jpg
20190705_205947.jpg (251.36 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_210104.jpg
20190705_210104.jpg (177.77 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_210050.jpg
20190705_210050.jpg (192.71 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_205157.jpg
20190705_205157.jpg (143.82 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
20190705_205118.jpg
20190705_205118.jpg (241.17 KiB) Viewed 2253 times
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:38 am

Nice stack of headers there :D

I had a gut feeling the 536 would work, as it seems more compatible overall. Promising stuff, this!

Regarding redesigning the adapter, I don’t think it’s really feasible without making the adapter huge, and then it would have a lot of dead space on it. I think that a TF636 should be made with the proper mounting holes to secure it.

As for PCMCIA, I believe Stephen said it would not work as at uses some of the same addresses or interrupts or whatever as fast IDE. Should be possible with a new firmware, though. Maybe a TF636 could have a jumper to select if you want it PCMCIA compatible or not? But I don’t know if the CPLD has any spare pins.

I’m glad to see that the concept is working!
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by terriblefire » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:09 pm

We could man in the middle the Gayle registers I guess so that pcmcia works. Hasn’t been a priority but I guess I’ll need to sort this for the A1200 at some point.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:25 pm

kludge wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:38 am
Regarding redesigning the adapter, I don’t think it’s really feasible without making the adapter huge, and then it would have a lot of dead space on it. I think that a TF636 should be made with the proper mounting holes to secure it.
i was thinking of it before i fell in to sleep, the best way to make - is an adaptor containing of 2 boards, second board can be soldered under angle, will build one of paper to show You my idea
kludge wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 8:38 am
As for PCMCIA, I believe Stephen said it would not work as at uses some of the same addresses or interrupts or whatever as fast IDE. Should be possible with a new firmware, though. Maybe a TF636 could have a jumper to select if you want it PCMCIA compatible or not? But I don’t know if the CPLD has any spare pins.

I’m glad to see that the concept is working!
Yeah, this is on the bottom of priority list but may be used on A1200, so worth to try.... BTW, Steve, any updates from Eduardo?
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sun Jul 07, 2019 7:58 am

terriblefire wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:09 pm
We could man in the middle the Gayle registers I guess so that pcmcia works. Hasn’t been a priority but I guess I’ll need to sort this for the A1200 at some point.
It would certainly be a nice feature. I don't really want to lose the PCMCIA port.
8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Sat Jul 06, 2019 12:25 pm
i was thinking of it before i fell in to sleep, the best way to make - is an adaptor containing of 2 boards, second board can be soldered under angle, will build one of paper to show You my idea
Yeah, I guess an adapter sandwich could work, but in my mind that would still only be a proof of concept. The adapter part with the PLCC socket on it would still have to be quite large to be able to mount it securely. Just press fitting the PLCC onto the CPU won't hold longterm.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:22 pm

Its funny. My first Amiga was an A600.. yet i've never build an accelerator for it.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:31 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:22 pm
Its funny. My first Amiga was an A600.. yet i've never build an accelerator for it.
Well... I have the upside down 68000 PLCC68 Eagle lib I made for the adapter... Just sayin' ;)
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by terriblefire » Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:05 pm

if someone sends me a A600 adaptor i'll test it out.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 357
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by kludge » Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:24 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:05 pm
if someone sends me a A600 adaptor i'll test it out.
I’ll solder one up and send it to you. Hopefully within the next couple of days. PM me your address.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 3 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ Amiga 600HD ][ Amiga 2000 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ 64 MB RAM hack ][ CD32 (NTSC) ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 2 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 597
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: TF536 on A300/A600

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:10 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Sun Jul 07, 2019 8:22 pm
Its funny. My first Amiga was an A600.. yet i've never build an accelerator for it.
You already did, Steve :lol:
We just need to figure out how to fit it inside the A600 case :lol:
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”