TF536 IDE speed

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

TF536 IDE speed

Post by kulamario » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:36 pm

Welcome
I done my 5 boards but I think is something wrong speed in SysInfo show me 600-700kb/s when i write in shell
CPU Fastrom i have up to 2mb/s
Another think games like Doom and Nemac start freeze after some time
I check this on CF Card and SD Card
Procesor from Ebay 030 50mhz
System 3.1
and as well I check this on 3.1.4 on this one max transfer what I get was 650kb/s
Please any advice with this

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:43 pm


alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by alenppc » Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:47 pm

kulamario wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:36 pm
Welcome
I done my 5 boards but I think is something wrong speed in SysInfo show me 600-700kb/s when i write in shell
CPU Fastrom i have up to 2mb/s
Sysinfo is awfully bad at this. For more accurate results you should use a specific disk transfer benchmarking software, such as diskspeed. But as you've confirmed, FASTROM improves transfer.
Another think games like Doom and Nemac start freeze after some time
I check this on CF Card and SD Card
Procesor from Ebay 030 50mhz
And there is your problem. It's most likely a fake/reprinted CPU. Want to find a sure fire way to make it crash? Download memcheck12.lha from aminet and run it on fast ram. It will make a fake/reprinted CPU crash at some point.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by terriblefire » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:08 pm

kulamario wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 12:36 pm
Welcome
I done my 5 boards but I think is something wrong speed in SysInfo show me 600-700kb/s when i write in shell
CPU Fastrom i have up to 2mb/s
This is well known and well documented. This is what you get. Its because without fastrom the scsi driver is running out of slow rom.

On CD32 you can get 1.4Mb/s without fastrom and 2-4Mb/s with it.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by kulamario » Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:13 pm

20200630_131029.jpg
20200630_131029.jpg (275.77 KiB) Viewed 1092 times
Problem sort thanks lads
Now must find what is going on with this two games
When I left super frog for whole night run without problem same frontier working perfect but Doom and Nemac no want

matt020
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by matt020 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:12 am

kulamario wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:13 pm

Problem sort thanks lads

What was the solution??

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by terriblefire » Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:45 am

matt020 wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 10:12 am
What was the solution??
There was never a problem.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

richx
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2019 5:03 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by richx » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:28 pm

kulamario wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 1:13 pm
When I left super frog for whole night run without problem same frontier working perfect but Doom and Nemac no want
Post a picture of your 030. As mentioned, you might have a fake "50Mhz". I believe the TF will clock down CPU when accessing chip/slow RAM, which is probably majority of what Super Frog does, whereas Doom would be more heavy on SDRAM running CPU at full clock speed.

Homer79
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2018 8:03 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by Homer79 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:20 pm

Thanks Ill try this program with my TF536 and see what it does

[/quote]

And there is your problem. It's most likely a fake/reprinted CPU. Want to find a sure fire way to make it crash? Download memcheck12.lha from aminet and run it on fast ram. It will make a fake/reprinted CPU crash at some point.
[/quote]

User avatar
kulamario
Posts: 111
Joined: Fri Nov 29, 2019 7:20 pm

Re: TF536 IDE speed

Post by kulamario » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:36 pm

IMG_20200626_134640.jpg
IMG_20200626_134640.jpg (271.09 KiB) Viewed 957 times
Bought from this seller www.ebay.co.uk/itm/143326528869

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”