Ram choices for TF536

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by alenppc » Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:34 pm

8 Bit Dreams wrote:
Sat Aug 15, 2020 5:10 pm
Tested on A2000 with several TF536 cards - no joy, hence this warning :geek:
Almost all the cards shipped by me use this ram and while I don't have an A2000, everybody who flashed one has had no issues on the 2000 (with one exception but I think the chip was defective).

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by PhilC » Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:43 pm

Guess I'll re-edit then.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 674
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:12 pm

PhilC wrote:
Sat Aug 15, 2020 10:43 pm
Guess I'll re-edit then.
Yes, please...
have built two new TF536 cards today, one with Micron and one with Samsung ram modules,
both works fine without buffers, but rejects to boot as soon as IDE buffers are added - hangs in reboot loop, so it's not memory type related..
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by PhilC » Tue Aug 18, 2020 9:22 pm

Thanks, will do it now.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

ctirad
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:59 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by ctirad » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:10 pm

PhilC wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:55 pm
Tested chips for 128mb version.
Alliance Memory AS4C32M16SA-7TCN Tested working to 64mb
I accidentally installed two sets of AS4C32M16SB-6TIN. No success :(
Any chance to get it working by updating CPLD firmware?

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3767
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by PhilC » Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:20 pm

@ctirad have you googled to see what the difference is between the working and non working versions?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 623
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by alenppc » Sun Sep 27, 2020 3:12 am

ctirad wrote:
Sat Sep 26, 2020 10:10 pm
PhilC wrote:
Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:55 pm
Tested chips for 128mb version.
Alliance Memory AS4C32M16SA-7TCN Tested working to 64mb
I accidentally installed two sets of AS4C32M16SB-6TIN. No success :(
Any chance to get it working by updating CPLD firmware?
The firmware won’t be updated again since Stephen has given up on development, however this ram should work as 64 mb (it won’t get recognized as 128).

You should double check the data sheet but if it doesn’t work, your problem most likely lies elsewhere.

ctirad
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:59 pm

Re: Ram choices for TF536

Post by ctirad » Fri Oct 02, 2020 8:25 pm

You was right. The problem was probably either in my Mega ST4 or 192k emutos. After putting the card into other machine it started to work. And thanks to last FW update I have full 128MB of FastRAM. 8-)

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”