CDTV Relocator for the TF536

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

go0se
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by go0se » Sat Aug 01, 2020 5:31 pm

Here are the Gerber files for the CDTV relocator as ordered from JLCPCB for anyone that wants to build their own.

Note: The names of the individual files in the archive start with A500* as this was derived from my A500 project, but they are the CDTV files :)

layers : 2
width : 83.37 mm
height : 45.66 mm

!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!

If you are installing an accelerator into the CDTV the motherboard will require some manual support on the right hand side as it is not supported by brackets in this area. Be sure to unplug the CDTV completely for a while to allow the PSU caps to discharge as you will need to place your hands close to the CDTV PSU to give the necessary support to the motherboard.

!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!!!!WARNING!!!
Attachments
cdtv_V2.zip
(464.38 KiB) Downloaded 42 times

utri007
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by utri007 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 6:49 pm

Looks good. You ended up have locator soldered. :) I thought that soldering it permanently would make installation more reliable. Locators can be pain.

I really would like to get one.

go0se
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by go0se » Sat Aug 01, 2020 7:57 pm

I decided to try the soldered relocator approach first as the additional height gained from losing the female headers would allow the CPU to be socketed. With the socket the CPU does sit higher than the IDE header/cable but the lid will still close without issue. The drawback to this is obviously that it makes a build CDTV specific if it can't be detached from the relocator and also pushes the 030 closer to the lid than is absolutely necessary.

Having the standard detachable relocator would require losing the socket as discussed previously.

It would also be possible to have the permanent relocator and the CPU soldered to the 536 to keep the CPU well away from the lid but that seems to be sacrificing the benefits of the socket for the sake of it.

I suppose it depends on personal preference as to what configuration people want.

utri007
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by utri007 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:05 pm

What are actual benefits of socketed CPU? I do understand this with A1200 accelerator, when same card can do 25 to 50mzh without any other change than oscilator.

How often accelerator requires new CPU? I haven heard that CPU gets broken?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by terriblefire » Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:42 pm

utri007 wrote:
Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:05 pm
What are actual benefits of socketed CPU? I do understand this with A1200 accelerator, when same card can do 25 to 50mzh without any other change than oscilator.

How often accelerator requires new CPU? I haven heard that CPU gets broken?
Not all CPUs are capable of 50Mhz and you dont know this until its in the board a lot of the time.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

go0se
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by go0se » Sat Aug 01, 2020 9:43 pm

The genuine RC50 CPU shouldn't develop any issues, but you lose the ability to use it any other card without having to desolder 128 pins. If you solder an RC50 in there then you've essentially sacrificed it to the card, desoldering on that scale isn't without risk to both the card PCB and the CPU.

As has been discussed at length on various other threads, there are lots of reprints floating about these days. Even with significant testing it might turn out that you've soldered a turkey into your card. If that happens then you'll be glad you put a socket in there.

Again it comes down to personal preference and your relationship with risk :)

utri007
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by utri007 » Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:20 pm

OK, I understand. Seems that main problem is that there is no reliable source of NEW 50mhz capable 68030 CPUs.

So be it :D socket them all!

utri007
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by utri007 » Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:51 pm

Would it be possible to build a version of the 536 firmware with the RAM autoconfig disabled?

Just wondering, what are limitations if ram is added manually with startup-sequence?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3457
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by terriblefire » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:24 pm

If you guys wait a bit i have been studying the CDTV driver and i'll be able to fix it eventually.

What i really need is a way to reassemble a CDTV extended rom with a replacement cdtv.device so i can get to testing. If someone could find a way to do that (preferably with amitools) i'd would get me further forward. Thats where i stalled last time.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

utri007
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: CDTV Relocator for the TF536

Post by utri007 » Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:52 pm

I don't know about Amitools, but Dooprey's Remus has nice GUI and it supports cdtv extended roms.

Though installing it is something you wount like. You are required to install buch of stuff first.

Here:

http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/beta/

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”