Reflashing the TF536

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Stormbringer
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:10 pm

Reflashing the TF536

Post by Stormbringer » Mon Aug 03, 2020 11:06 pm

I'm going to attempt to flash my TF536 to get it working on my A2000 v6.2 mobo.

I've been using the terriblefire guide here:
https://github.com/terriblefire/tf328/w ... spberry-Pi

Installing the packages was fun since I hate linux (and it hates me)... SCROLL TO THE RIGHT for the full command to install "lsb-release".

Before I go hooking it up to my Raspberry PI 3b I wanted to confirm something.
I've actually never heard of BCM (Broadcom SOC channel), usually refer to the pinout. Anyhow, am I to assume the BCM #'s translate to the GPIO #'s?.

In my case with the RPi3b Id be using pins:
7 (TMS)
15 (TDI)
13 (TDO)
11 (TCK)
9 (GND) or any other ground pins...

Is that correct?

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by derkom » Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:39 am

Yes, that's the GPIO pins. You find might this guide illuminating.

Thanks for posting this question. I've got a 536 that needs flashing and I hadn't run across TF's guide. Seems this is a lot simpler than I thought last night.

Stormbringer
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:10 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by Stormbringer » Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:49 am

I wired it up and I believe I installed the packages correctly but when I type the sudo xc3sprog -c sysfsgpio command I get a whole page of items but at the beginning of the output I get something along the lines of sysfsgpio not found. Any ideas?

theq
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 7:16 pm
Location: North of the Wall

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by theq » Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:38 am

If connected correctly you should get something like this:

Code: Select all

pi@RaspberryPi2b:~ $ sudo xc3sprog -c sysfsgpio
XC3SPROG (c) 2004-2011 xc3sprog project $Rev: 774 $ OS: Linux
Free software: If you contribute nothing, expect nothing!
Feedback on success/failure/enhancement requests:
	http://sourceforge.net/mail/?group_id=170565 
Check Sourceforge for updates:
	http://sourceforge.net/projects/xc3sprog/develop

JTAG loc.:   0  IDCODE: 0x59616093  Desc:                      XC95288XL Rev: E  IR length:  8
pi@RaspberryPi2b:~ $ 

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 429
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:46 am

You must also ensure the TF board has power.
You can do this by having it installed and powered on or by supplying 5v to the PWR header.

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by supaduper » Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:05 am

Here is a link to a 8gb raspberry pie image I did with all the software installed so all you need to do is have the cables setup and away you go, there is a howto also included with Steves Diagram of the cable layout, you cant go wrong, just substitute your TF536 jed files for the ones I included for the TF328
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=1348&p=19666#p19666

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by derkom » Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:05 am

Stormbringer wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:49 am
I wired it up and I believe I installed the packages correctly but when I type the sudo xc3sprog -c sysfsgpio command I get a whole page of items but at the beginning of the output I get something along the lines of sysfsgpio not found. Any ideas?
See this post.

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by derkom » Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:54 am

I have just successfully flashed my TF536 (with Atari firmware) using this method (sysfsgpio_creator instead of sysfsgpio), on a Raspberry Pi 2 running Raspbian Buster, so it does work. :mrgreen:

Stormbringer
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 5:10 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by Stormbringer » Tue Aug 04, 2020 2:27 pm

derkom wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 10:05 am
Stormbringer wrote:
Tue Aug 04, 2020 6:49 am
I wired it up and I believe I installed the packages correctly but when I type the sudo xc3sprog -c sysfsgpio command I get a whole page of items but at the beginning of the output I get something along the lines of sysfsgpio not found. Any ideas?
See this post.
WINNER winner chicken dinner!!!!!!!!

I was able to use the commands:
sudo xc3sprog -c sysfsgpio_creator

and

sudo xc3sprog -v -c sysfsgpio_creator -p 0 tf536r2_main_top_AMIGA_FULL_PHASE_7.jed:w

Now it looks like im up and running.... This is my first time with an Amiga so now I get to play!!!! thank you all!!!!

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 599
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Reflashing the TF536

Post by derkom » Tue Aug 04, 2020 3:06 pm

:cheer: :girldance:

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”