PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Lemaru
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:28 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by Lemaru » Mon Sep 21, 2020 5:14 pm

That's a shame. I guess it ties up with the findings over on Kludges old thread

viewtopic.php?f=67&t=1489

I only have the TF536s to test with, as my original intention was just to find a way to use them in my A600s (and if the adaptors can help anyone else then that's a bonus). Wonder what other cards, if any, will work.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by kludge » Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:43 pm

Lemaru wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 5:14 pm
That's a shame. I guess it ties up with the findings over on Kludges old thread

viewtopic.php?f=67&t=1489

I only have the TF536s to test with, as my original intention was just to find a way to use them in my A600s (and if the adaptors can help anyone else then that's a bonus). Wonder what other cards, if any, will work.
Matzes cards reportedly work with the adapter (at least with mine, but as they work the same it should work with yours as well). The problem is that the card doesn't physically fit in the A600. But it should be possible to fork his projekt and make an A600 version of the accelerator.
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Mon Sep 21, 2020 10:17 pm

If this will ever be done I'd go for full 020 to reach 64MB instread of EC (16MB limit)
There was a person who respinned this card already
A1k_TK68EC020#2.jpg
A1k_TK68EC020#2.jpg (252.09 KiB) Viewed 331 times
But unfortunately with same EC CPU...
He also used separate resistors instread of RNs wich is not smart i think..
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by alenppc » Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:28 am

kludge wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:43 pm

Matzes cards reportedly work with the adapter (at least with mine, but as they work the same it should work with yours as well). The problem is that the card doesn't physically fit in the A600. But it should be possible to fork his projekt and make an A600 version of the accelerator.
I wish I could get into matze’s cards but unfortunately the language barrier makes it impossible.

User avatar
kludge
Posts: 388
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:05 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by kludge » Tue Sep 22, 2020 10:46 am

alenppc wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:28 am
kludge wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:43 pm

Matzes cards reportedly work with the adapter (at least with mine, but as they work the same it should work with yours as well). The problem is that the card doesn't physically fit in the A600. But it should be possible to fork his projekt and make an A600 version of the accelerator.
I wish I could get into matze’s cards but unfortunately the language barrier makes it impossible.
Yeah... I’ve started reading up on them through Google translate, but it would certainly help if the would be some sort of “official support” in English. Maybe @8 Bit Dreams could be a middleman? :D
A kludge is a workaround or quick-and-dirty solution that is clumsy, inelegant, inefficient, difficult to extend and hard to maintain.

My lack of focus:
[ 4 * Amiga 500 ][ Amiga 500+ ][ 2 * Amiga 600 ][ A1200 ][ Amiga 2000 w/ A2386 ][ Amiga 4000/030 w/ CyberVision 64 3D, FastLane SCSI Z3 ][ CD32 ][ VIC-20 ][ 4 * C64 Breadbin ][ 5 * C64C ][ 2 * C128 ][ C128D ][ C64 DTV ][ Mac Classic ][ Mac Classic II ][ Mac Colour Classic ]

User avatar
8 Bit Dreams
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 664
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:12 am
Location: Germany

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by 8 Bit Dreams » Tue Sep 22, 2020 12:06 pm

You can use english on a1k.org to ask questions - you'll get answers for sure :P
Of course i can help, if someone gets stuck 😇
Retro computer repair & hardware in Germany

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by alenppc » Tue Sep 29, 2020 3:50 pm

The A600 is such a peculiar beast. It won't boot with the 536 in any configuration with Kickstart 3.1.4.
So if anyone is trying to get it to work with 3.1.4, don't bother.

EDIT: the internal drive doesn't work at all with the 536 plugged in, regardless of firmware.

Maximilian
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by Maximilian » Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:53 pm

Hmm, from the kickstart side the only real difference i can think off between an A500 and an A600 is the cardresource.device that is loaded dynamicly and the memory mapping.
So it is strange that the floppy isn't working, are you sure it worked before?

Did you extract the Kickstart files for comparison using RomSplit?

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 615
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by alenppc » Wed Sep 30, 2020 2:02 am

Yes, the internal floppy works as soon as you plug in a 68000 cpu but stops working with the 536. Oddly enough the external floppy always works.

The 3.1.4 has tons of differences from the 3.1 so no point comparing. In fact even loading modules from the disk instead of using a kickstart chip produces the same results.

Lemaru
Posts: 61
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:28 pm

Re: PLCC to DIP adaptor - TF536 on A600

Post by Lemaru » Wed Sep 30, 2020 3:48 pm

Good to know about the floppy drive. Even though I don't use a gotek, I can't remember the last time I used a floppy in one so never even thought to test. I hear the floppy clicking away until the noclick app kicks in, and then never thought about it much more than that

Shame that the recent situation has ruined hopes to get a more A600 compatible firmware :(

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”