TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Aeberbach
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:24 pm

TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Aeberbach » Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:07 am

Here's what it looks like - green flashing like DiagROM is decoding, then a sequence of red/green flashes, then some horizontal lines. It doesn't appear to be crashed but doesn't appear right, obviously. Anyone have ideas where I should start looking?


User avatar
arkadiusz.makarenko
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 629
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2019 7:36 am
Location: Edinburgh

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by arkadiusz.makarenko » Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:09 am

Can you see anything on serial output?
Do not trust people. They are capable of greatness.
~ Stanislaw Lem

Aeberbach
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:24 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Aeberbach » Mon Sep 21, 2020 9:32 am

I knew I kept the terminal around for something... lots of red scrolling text. Too fast to read the details but a lot of BLAH BLAH FAILED in red scrolls by and then it ends in:

NO hipmem detected
- Parallel _ode $fc - Trying to find some fastmem (as no chipmem found)
- Parallel _ode $fb - Memorydetection done
- Parallel _ode $80 - NO _hipmem detected
- NO MEMORY FOUND - HALTING SYSTEM

When the 536 is removed everything checks out fine and diagrom runs like it does through the Amiga. I have looked at everything closely with my little LCD microscope and can't see any problems.

Pictures:
Image
Image
Image
Image

go0se
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by go0se » Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:23 am

Pin 29 on IC8 (mem chip upper RHS in the photo, pin second from bottom left) looks suspect.

Touch that up and check again.

If that doesn't help then reflow all pins on the four level shifters and the two memory chips.

Failing that reflow the CPLD. Depending on your soldering technique the most likely culprits are one or more of the pins at each corner of the 288.

Excellent photos BTW, but the residual flux on the shifters makes them hard to inspect.

EDIT* Pin 27 on IC8 could be bridged but it looks more like a reflection from residual flux.

bnice7
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:31 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by bnice7 » Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:26 am

Your RAM IC's are installed upside down!

go0se
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 7:55 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by go0se » Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:42 am

bnice7 wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:26 am
Your RAM IC's are installed upside down!
Ouch!, Yes you might want to correct that, perhaps I should have checked the fundamentals first before nit picking on the soldering details! :)

Lemaru
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 9:28 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Lemaru » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:02 pm

go0se wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:42 am
bnice7 wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:26 am
Your RAM IC's are installed upside down!
Ouch!, Yes you might want to correct that, perhaps I should have checked the fundamentals first before nit picking on the soldering details! :)
I was too busy inspecting the pins to have spotted that one too. lol :roll:

Aeberbach
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 10:24 pm

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Aeberbach » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:04 pm

:oops:

Danoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Danoo » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:11 pm

bnice7 wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 11:26 am
Your RAM IC's are installed upside down!
Well picked up, I was looking at the soldering as well, I should know better :!: always look for simply mistakes first :lol:

Danoo
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: TF536 doesn't _quite_ boot

Post by Danoo » Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:16 pm

Aeberbach wrote:
Mon Sep 21, 2020 12:04 pm
:oops:
Hopefully no other chip damage :pullhair:

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”