TF536 Firmare Update RC3

68030 + SDRAM + IDE

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4137
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by terriblefire » Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:14 pm

TF536 Firmware update now available.
tf536_2021_03_31_RC3.zip
(35.17 KiB) Downloaded 245 times
Appears in the early start menu as product id 4. Lower than this and your firmware is out of date.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

amimjf
Posts: 72
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 8:25 am

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by amimjf » Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:33 pm

Hi does this resolve just the INT2 / DTACK issue ?, or is there anything else.

I've never seen disk access freezes in either my A2000 or A500 setups. Is this image suitable for both A2000 CPU slot and A500 systems ?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4137
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by terriblefire » Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:07 pm

amimjf wrote:
Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:33 pm
Hi does this resolve just the INT2 / DTACK issue ?, or is there anything else.

I've never seen disk access freezes in either my A2000 or A500 setups. Is this image suitable for both A2000 CPU slot and A500 systems ?
It contains all the fixes for the A500 and A2000 and a couple of things i noticed while doing the A1200 stuff that you're honestly not likely to notice.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by alenppc » Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:18 pm

terriblefire wrote:
Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:07 pm
amimjf wrote:
Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:33 pm
Hi does this resolve just the INT2 / DTACK issue ?, or is there anything else.

I've never seen disk access freezes in either my A2000 or A500 setups. Is this image suitable for both A2000 CPU slot and A500 systems ?
It contains all the fixes for the A500 and A2000 and a couple of things i noticed while doing the A1200 stuff that you're honestly not likely to notice.
Thank you for the fix Steve, amazing work as usual. I will also try this on the A600 soon.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 4137
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
YouTube: terriblefire
Contact:

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by terriblefire » Wed Mar 31, 2021 9:27 pm

The freeze issue was caused by me having a variable on memory access decode that could change mid cycle.

There existed a possibly that part of the cycle had passed before the decode kicked in and locked the cycle. There was basically a 140ns window where if an IDE interrupt occurred it would lock the system. Since i only spent a few hours fixing this i didnt fix anything else.

I looked at backporting the fastata module thats up and coming on the TF1260 but decided against it for 2 reasons.

1. If i suddenly switched to PIO-4 some cards would stop working and there would be whingers.
2. Given recent events I really didnt feel like putting any more effort in.
———
"It is not necessarily a supply voltage at no load, but the amount of current it can provide when touched that
indicates how much hurting you shall receive."

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 311
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by GadgetUK164 » Wed Mar 31, 2021 10:03 pm

Fantastic work!!! =D Astonished at you managing to get this done just before moving!!!
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

Danoo
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:25 pm
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by Danoo » Wed Mar 31, 2021 11:53 pm

Thank you Stephen, for the amazing support :D

Good luck with your move, just completed my own, I must be getting old, it was such a pain setting everything back up this time.

Maximilian
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:02 pm

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by Maximilian » Thu Apr 01, 2021 12:03 am

Thanks Stephen for the support,

It is very much appriciated as always. :dualthumbup:

obitus1990
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2021 4:50 pm
Location: Lacombe

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by obitus1990 » Thu Apr 01, 2021 1:22 am

Thank you for the update! I should be programming mine this weekend...

dalek
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am
Location: NSW Australia

Re: TF536 Firmare Update RC3

Post by dalek » Thu Apr 01, 2021 4:05 am

:thanksyellow: will flash as soon as I can :cheer:

Post Reply

Return to “TF536”