Second CPU for audio processing?

All information relating to the Alpha plus all the WIP threads etc.
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin

Second CPU for audio processing?

Post by exxos »

In relation of thinking about a new audio system and the fact we don't have any new software to play's like tracker tunes on a DSP etc.. We do actually have code that runs on the CPU tracker code already.. I think we can get 14Khz with the CPU maxed out ?

A second CPU doesn't have to run at 8MHz either, it can run at 50MHz for much faster processing speeds, aka higher sample playback quality.

The idea is, what if we actually have a second CPU with its own RAM could run tracker playback routine directly from its own RAM ?

This way pretty much any machine code could be run on the second CPU... It would likely need some patching in some respects I guess, but I am not a expert in how the tracker code works.. If it uses a MFP timer, we may need some hardware hackery to emulate this or something..

Second CPU could be used with pretty much any machine code.. I don't know how useful it would be for other things.. But I guess it could be used to do calculations or manipulate data etc ... But of course data would have to be copied back to main man for it to be used by the main processor..

I guess a example would be thing like a long division by the CPU. Values to work with can be loaded into the second RAM/CPU where it can crunch the numbers and flagged the main CPU when ready with the result where it can be copied back to main RAM.. I guess would be more like how a FPU would work on the bus.

In any case, if it would be possible to run a tracker playback routine on the second CPU with its own RAM, then tracker music can be played high quality with pretty much no main CPU overhead.. Then we are not limited to just wave/dac playback.

Food for thought I guess...
https://www.exxosforum.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS