derkom's attempt

Topic for users to share their building progress.
User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Thu Dec 26, 2019 8:08 pm

Confirmed my messy whites were just a cabling issue. It looks great now.

I fixed the serial port, installed the ACSI port, swapped out the 32 MHz crystal for the 32.084988, and attempted to jumper out the DMA buffer. I say "attempted" because the system started crashing after that. But I was using solid core 24 AWG pulled from some cat6, and that stuff wasn't reliable for logic probe connections earlier, so I imagine it's just not making good contact in the socket. Will probably wire up something better tomorrow. :P

User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Fri Dec 27, 2019 1:15 pm

H4-016.jpg
H4-016.jpg (45.1 KiB) Viewed 362 times

Okay, with IC6 jumpered out properly, DMA is working fine. Will replace with the bodge board later. :mrgreen:

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9654
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by exxos » Fri Dec 27, 2019 1:30 pm

:bravo: :coolpics:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Sun Dec 29, 2019 7:47 am

Yesterday I tried to implement Icky's DMA fix, without success. But I'm wondering if the problem is my build of the fix or if there's a different problem with DMA that I didn't notice before. (Foolishly, I verified that the US detected when I jumpered out IC6, but I didn't actually use it.)

My build of Icky's fix:

H4-017.jpg
H4-017.jpg (113.65 KiB) Viewed 331 times
H4-018.jpg
H4-018.jpg (119.55 KiB) Viewed 331 times

(Two different connections to FDCS are due to my debugging attempts.)

Is there anything noticeably wrong with this build of the fix? Yes, that is a 74LS04 on top, and I have verified with the logic probe that it's reversing FDCS and feeding that into pin 19 on IC6. When I was pulling FDCS in from the 1.44 GAL port, I seemed to be getting inconsistent behaviour. Occasionally bombs, occasionally scrambled device names on ACSI, occasionally good device names, but never fully working. When I moved over to pulling FDCS directly off IC5, I am consistently getting device names in HDDRIVER, but always three bombs when I run HDDRUTIL.

If this build looks good, I probably have another problem with DMA somewhere, although I have been very careful to get good solders this time. :) I figure I'll pull the fix out and jumper over IC6 again and to a better job of testing DMA without IC6, but wanted to see if there's anything glaringly wrong with my build of the fix first.

User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:16 pm

So it turns out my problem seems to have nothing to do with DMA or with Icky's fix (which does fix it), but with time. Before playing with DMA, I hadn't actually run the system for more than 10 minutes or so at a time, and it seems my H4 is stable for only about 30 minutes before things start to go haywire. If I start the system cold and run GEMBench in a loop, it'll crash after a while. Sometimes just a freeze, sometimes two bombs, sometimes three.

I've swapped all the ICs with another ST to see if it was just a wonky chip. I've moved from Falcon RAM to SIMM. I've used three different PSUs, both inside and outside the machine. Nothing is running hot except the DAC, where it's expected.

Occasionally, as the system is in the process of becoming unstable, it seems to run very very slowly before crashing (screen redraws glacial), and sometimes the mouse pointer isn't black anymore.

Very odd stuff.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2535
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by PhilC » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:21 pm

Just a guess, but try pushing the board in a few odd places, it sounds like something is failing due to heat. You might be able to emulate this by flexing the board in places.

Have you also tried a different psu?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:24 pm

PhilC wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:21 pm
Just a guess, but try pushing the board in a few odd places, it sounds like something is failing due to heat. You might be able to emulate this by flexing the board in places.

Have you also tried a different psu?
I have tried poking around at the board, with no luck causing a crash.

I've tried three different PSUs, two of which I know are good. The third is a recent acquisition and I haven't really tested it out, so no guarantees there.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9654
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by exxos » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:26 pm

derkom wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:16 pm
Occasionally, as the system is in the process of becoming unstable, it seems to run very very slowly before crashing (screen redraws glacial), and sometimes the mouse pointer isn't black anymore.

I would suggest re-soldering everything which is connected to BG,BGACK,BR lines on the board, SIL arrays, CPU etc etc Also resoldering the MFP.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
derkom
Posts: 254
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by derkom » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:32 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:26 pm
I would suggest re-soldering everything which is connected to BG,BGACK,BR lines on the board, SIL arrays, CPU etc etc Also resoldering the MFP.
I knew you were going to say that. :lol: I've reflowed everything so many times at this point...

It did occur to me while I was thinking about this that when I reflowed all the PLCCs, I didn't reflow the DTACK pins because I didn't want to deal with redoing that bodge at the moment. I'm going ahead and doing that right now, with little hope, but you never know.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9654
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: derkom's attempt

Post by exxos » Tue Dec 31, 2019 7:35 pm

I only suggested a few pins though :)

Assuming you are not using the blitter, make sure BR,BG,BGACK are high all the time.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “MONGREL H4 USER BUILDS”