kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Topic for users to share their building progress.
User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by kodak80 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 4:47 am

exxos wrote:
Sun Dec 29, 2019 12:03 am
Can you post a image of this ? I did moved a lot of caps away from the PSU legs already, I was limited on space after all the track moving in most places.
Here is a photo of the capacitor in question.
89620673-7DD1-4EBA-8361-BE7563344D65.jpeg
89620673-7DD1-4EBA-8361-BE7563344D65.jpeg (333.86 KiB) Viewed 423 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by derkom » Mon Dec 30, 2019 8:19 am

Do you have an especially large foot on your PSU bracket? Mine isn't very close to that capacitor once installed. I think perhaps you're just hitting the cap when installing the PSU, and should approach from a more vertical angle.

IMG_20191230_101802.jpg
IMG_20191230_101802.jpg (54.1 KiB) Viewed 416 times

User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by kodak80 » Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:07 am

I have my board in an ST case base and when fitting a PSU you have to angle it so that the PSU switch goes through the case hole so fitting it straight down is not an option with the board in a case.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 509
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by derkom » Mon Dec 30, 2019 10:22 am

kodak80 wrote:
Mon Dec 30, 2019 9:07 am
I have my board in an ST case base and when fitting a PSU you have to angle it so that the PSU switch goes through the case hole so fitting it straight down is not an option with the board in a case.
I'm doing that, too, but I seem to be missing the cap. :)

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11272
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by exxos » Mon Dec 30, 2019 11:43 am

I've moved it...

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (27 KiB) Viewed 394 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by kodak80 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:12 am

Board number 2 now booting into DiagROM.

Not booting into TOS though. Need to check soldering and IC pins are not oxidised.
7D110544-7647-488E-A6FB-37383A447035.jpeg
7D110544-7647-488E-A6FB-37383A447035.jpeg (255.28 KiB) Viewed 374 times
949B2875-41A3-490F-9023-51D3C827863C.jpeg
949B2875-41A3-490F-9023-51D3C827863C.jpeg (436.21 KiB) Viewed 374 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 11272
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by exxos » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:18 am

Looking good , can't be much wrong if your booting diagrom :)
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by kodak80 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:35 am

Just a couple of thoughts.

Once these new boards are ensconced in cases, it would be nice to have a badge on the outside to show what is inside?

Also, as these were a limited run, should they be allocated serial numbers for future posterity? I have tagged my two as AU1 and AU2 at the moment.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1319
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by PaulJ » Tue Dec 31, 2019 2:09 am

Sounds like your on the way. :) How are the other three boards doing?

User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 H4 build (x2)

Post by kodak80 » Tue Dec 31, 2019 4:28 am

The other 3 boards have not yet been started. I may end up building 1 of the others as well. The other 2 may b a while before they are started as the owner is away from today for a few weeks.

2nd board is now booting to TOS after cleaning IC pins so must have been oxidisation stopping TOS booting.
DB014CC0-531E-47AC-84BA-EF5C756D0A45.jpeg
DB014CC0-531E-47AC-84BA-EF5C756D0A45.jpeg (212.98 KiB) Viewed 360 times
Only seeing 2mb RAM at the moment as fix to the SIMM pins not yet done.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

Post Reply

Return to “MONGREL H4 USER BUILDS”