Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by JezC » Mon Apr 20, 2020 12:06 pm

rubber_jonnie wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 11:57 am
I haven't got that far yet, so don't have the DAC or Xtal, or any of the other bits, so I really need one of these!!
Yes, probably would be much less hassle overall to have the HDMI option...though I guess that is a candidate for a future successor to the H4 (along with native IDE support)...

Mind you, given my rate of (lack of) progress :oops: , there is every chance the HDMI will be finished before I even start on Mongrel #2 :lol:

User avatar
JezC
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:44 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by JezC » Mon Apr 20, 2020 12:07 pm

exxos wrote:
Mon Apr 20, 2020 12:03 pm
H4 #3 ;)
Maybe when I finally manage a lottery win... :D

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by derkom » Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:44 am

I'm really excited about this project. Superb work! I definitely looking forward to availability.

A quick question, for a curious application: Is it feasible to produce custom output resolutions from these boards? I don't mind if it requires field reprogramming of the FPGA to do it. I've got a couple of LCD panels I'd like to play with, but they do not have any scaling hardware, ergo will display native resolution only. I can use an HDMI-to-HDMI scaler for this, but it would certainly be more elegant to do it internally.

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:01 am

derkom wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:44 am
A quick question, for a curious application: Is it feasible to produce custom output resolutions from these boards?
Short answer: yes.

The current state of the working prototype is they output 4 resolutions depending on 2 jumpers: 800x480 (borders plus a more square aspect ratio on a widescreen TV), 720x480 (borders plus a more widescreen aspect ratio on the same TV), 720x400 (I may be misremembering the width on this one, it could be 800. This is intended to be horizontal borders only for a more square aspect ratio) and 640x400 (no borders at all). The Atari's non-border display area is always 640x400 within that rectangle.

The output res can be anything up to 896x501 minus a few pixels/lines for the sync pulse to fit into. That constraint comes from monochrome. If you make it switch output resolutions when changing video modes then you could go up to 1024x626 (minus a bit) for 50Hz.

Do you know the native dimensions of your TV panel(s) by any chance? I have no information about what's common.

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by derkom » Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:32 am

Smonson wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 8:01 am
Do you know the native dimensions of your TV panel(s) by any chance? I have no information about what's common.
These are old netbook panels. One is 1366x768 and the other 1280x768. So based on what you say, I'm still looking at having to scale externally. I was hoping that it might have been possible to easily double each dimension on the HDMI board, producing 1280x800, and then cross my fingers the panel would display the first 768 lines, acknowledging the fact that I'm going to lose 16 ST lines at the bottom.

It's kind of a "can this work" thing, not a permanent solution, because of those pesky lines at the bottom. I imagine the real solution here is to use a dedicated scaler, although even in that case, I don't know how well 400/480 lines will scale to 768 lines. Would be nice to have some higher PPI panels to play with. :D

Edit: I suppose the original question was really "do you happen to have a scaling engine already on that FPGA?" and the answer is "Nope!" :mrgreen:

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:43 pm

derkom wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 10:32 am
These are old netbook panels. One is 1366x768 and the other 1280x768. So based on what you say, I'm still looking at having to scale externally. I was hoping that it might have been possible to easily double each dimension on the HDMI board, producing 1280x800, and then cross my fingers the panel would display the first 768 lines, acknowledging the fact that I'm going to lose 16 ST lines at the bottom.
In theory you could double it to 1280x800 but I don't think we have a fast enough pixel clock (32MHz). It may be possible to pump it up a little, as it's using a PLL inside the FPGA. It'd need some experimentation. Let's revisit it later in the project.

User avatar
derkom
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 508
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by derkom » Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:46 pm

Smonson wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:43 pm
In theory you could double it to 1280x800 but I don't think we have a fast enough pixel clock (32MHz). It may be possible to pump it up a little, as it's using a PLL inside the FPGA. It'd need some experimentation. Let's revisit it later in the project.
Sure thing. This was (and will be) definitely a "don't put any actual time into this" thing. :D

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2317
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:15 pm

Well with our boards being assembled still under lockdown in the factory I thought I would have a go at building one up. This is just after cleaning up some solder bridges. It now needs a clean and then check out that there are no shorts. Then to blast the firmware on and see if it works.

IMG_5063.jpeg
IMG_5063.jpeg (275.62 KiB) Viewed 791 times

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3271
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by PhilC » Sun Apr 26, 2020 5:23 pm

:yay: :yay: :yay:
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2317
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Sun Apr 26, 2020 6:46 pm

With a few DIL sockets to make a tower (we like towers) I can test the board out on my 1st H4 which has the ST Monitor socket underneath.

It actually sits perfectly above the shielding. Firmware is in, HDMI is connecting (i.e. seeing some sort of signal) but black screen. Need to do a bit of debugging.

IMG_5064 (1).jpeg
IMG_5064 (1).jpeg (175.94 KiB) Viewed 815 times

Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”