Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
User avatar
sandord
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 649
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2018 10:08 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by sandord » Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:08 am

:yay2: :dualthumbup:

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1398
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by PaulJ » Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:37 pm

Sure would be great to get one! It doesn't need to be perfect. Sounds like this version would meet my needs. :excited: :excited: :excited:

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2581
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Sun Jun 07, 2020 3:18 pm

@Smonson - great news. Now we have a platform to continue building on with the H4 and the FPGA Shifter board :)

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2581
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:14 pm

As there are a few boards out there now for testing thought I would put up a guide on how these currently work.

Using the board on the H4 it plugs into the Shifter socket but there is also a VSYNC pin that is exactly in line with the VSYNC on the H4 motherboard. That pin should have a single socket to plug into. If you already have a VGA port or ST Monitor port soldered into your H4 then you will have to stack the board with DILs and you can put a wire from the VSYNC point down to the VSYNC on the H4.

The three LEDs marked show the frequency of the display being shown i.e. 50/60Hz for Low / Med and 71.2Hz for Mono.

JP1 - this jumper allows you to alter various setting on the board:
  • Yellow - 0 = Borders, 1 = No Borders
  • White - 0 = 4:3 ratio, 1 = 16:9 ratio
  • Green - 0 = No scan lines, 1 = Adds old CRT looking scan lines
These two together provide the following options. Note that resolution is what the monitor / TV is operating at the ST resolution is using those numbers. The board does not give you anything other than the standard Low, Med and High resolutions within those TV display ratios:

BordersRatioTV Res
00800x480
01480p
10720x400
11640x400

IMG_5359.jpeg
IMG_5359.jpeg (240.37 KiB) Viewed 1245 times

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 710
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by troed » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:24 pm

As you've seen, my board is up and running in the H4. I've briefly verified that it's not fully compatible with my fullscreen routines - is there some knowledgebase I should start off from or should I just start to document function vs expected?

/Troed

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12552
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:26 pm

troed wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:24 pm
As you've seen, my board is up and running in the H4. I've briefly verified that it's not fully compatible with my fullscreen routines - is there some knowledgebase I should start off from or should I just start to document function vs expected?
Might be best to start a new thread on it. As @Icky likely mentioned, we want to make this FPGA shifter fully compatible with the original.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12552
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:11 pm

Got my test board hooked up today.. Great work by @Smonson and @Icky :thumbup:

The image really does not do it justice...

IMG_5329.JPG
IMG_5329.JPG (322.35 KiB) Viewed 1083 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

BlankVector
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:51 pm

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by BlankVector » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:21 pm

exxos wrote:
Thu Jun 25, 2020 10:11 pm
Got my test board hooked up today.. Great work by @Smonson and @Icky :thumbup:
Hats off, really amazing job. Go ahead!
Subscribe to my Vretrocomputing channel on YouTube and Facebook. Latest video: Replace Atari STE ROMs with EEPROMs.

User avatar
Cosmic Puppet
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 707
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 1:03 am
Location: West Yorkshire
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbuSMn ... MoHknHryLg
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Cosmic Puppet » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:40 pm

Icky wrote:
Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:14 pm
IMG_5359.jpeg
This is a thing of beauty!
US Atari 520 STFM (C070523-001 REV.D1) 4MB Marpet Upgrade, TOS 1.04, EmuTOS 1.0, Ultrasatan, PP Driver, Original Floppy Disk Drive, NEC Multisync EA193Mi Monitor.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 12552
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Tue Jun 30, 2020 9:59 pm

Just as a small update. We are working on this all the time in between 50 other things. Currently I am bugging to see if we can get the overscan to fit fully on the screen. The main issue is the ST's overscan resolutions, like in that example image ,end up with about 20 pixels being cut off (at the bottom) Because it simply doesn't scale easily to HDMI resolutions.

It half looks like it may be a toss-up over simply missing pixels, or having a higher resolution for overscan where it will have black borders. Or maybe doing some funky scaling on the fly, but considering the low ST resolution this could make things look bad.. So we are looking into any/all workarounds/solutions for this currently.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”