A1000 + DKB Indsider II +ICD AdSpeed

General hardware issues and troubleshooting etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
User avatar
JackTheKnife
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:36 pm

A1000 + DKB Indsider II +ICD AdSpeed

Post by JackTheKnife » Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:08 am

I have tied to transplant ICD AdSpeed from my A500 to A1000 (ROM 2.04) but it will boot only with it set to 14MHz but from there I can't load WB (via Gotek). It will error out with the message:
RAM Program Failed (error #80000003) Wait for disk activity to finish.
CPU is installed on the DKB Indsider II board and based what I found it should be compatible with ICD AdSpeed.

Any thoughts?

Thanks

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 3454
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: A1000 + DKB Indsider II +ICD AdSpeed

Post by terriblefire » Sun Oct 18, 2020 9:37 am

JackTheKnife wrote:
Sun Oct 18, 2020 1:08 am
RAM Program Failed (error #80000003) Wait for disk activity to finish.
Thanks
That error is word access to an odd address. Does the card work on the A500?
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

User avatar
JackTheKnife
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:36 pm

Re: A1000 + DKB Indsider II +ICD AdSpeed

Post by JackTheKnife » Sun Oct 18, 2020 10:47 pm

Yes - it was working fine on A500. Maybe I should to use CPU from A1000 but I will expect there is no difference.

Also I have pulled out Insider II and put AdSpeed directly on KuickStart II board with default KS 1.3 instead 2.04 and I was able to boot Amiga in 7Mhz as well 14MHz but Workbench didn't load with 14MHz complaning about waiting for the disk process to finis (or something similar).

On another hand it looks someone before me did some work on the daughterboard doing the PALs wire mod but were soldered little bit different than I saw it at one forums with some addition of a black wire connected somewhere under the daughterboard. Any clue what someone did that?
2020-10-18 17.21.53.jpg
2020-10-18 17.21.53.jpg (354.55 KiB) Viewed 502 times
2020-10-17 23.31.51.jpg
2020-10-17 23.31.51.jpg (159.73 KiB) Viewed 502 times

User avatar
JackTheKnife
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2020 7:36 pm

Re: A1000 + DKB Indsider II +ICD AdSpeed

Post by JackTheKnife » Tue Oct 20, 2020 2:20 am

Based on that article below it looks like I will not work at all to have more than 2 extensions in the CPU socket :\

In this case I'm leaning towards putting TF53x in A1000 as it will may kill two birds with one stone (more RAM and more power ;))
122072216_10224867377057946_3314282139649647371_n.jpg
122072216_10224867377057946_3314282139649647371_n.jpg (174.75 KiB) Viewed 457 times

Post Reply

Return to “AMIGA HARDWARE HELP”