Boot From SCSI2SD

General hardware issues and troubleshooting etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

GianDO
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:25 pm

Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GianDO » Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:23 pm

Hi,
I have a SCSI2SD on my A2000 equipped with Hardital SuperBigBang Accelerator (68030 + 8MB RAM + SCSI). When I turn on the A2000 it doesn't boot on the first try, but it needs a reset (CTRL + Amiga + Amiga) to boot. If I do a reset, the system always boots, but if I turn the A2000 off and on again the problem repeats itself. Could someone explain to me what it could depend on?

Thanks
G
A2000 - MC68000 - KS3.1 - WB 3.1 - 2MB ChipRAM - Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II - 8 MB FastRAM - SD2SCSI 16GB - Indivision ECS

Tomswork
Posts: 456
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2019 10:05 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by Tomswork » Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:59 pm

The scsi2sd has setting for the time it takes to start it maybe waking up to late. Some models maybe faster. The atari is extrernal and I power it up first takes about 5 seconds for me before I can turn on the st. There are other setting that may effect an amiga

Tom

GianDO
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GianDO » Thu Dec 03, 2020 10:51 pm

Tomswork wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 8:59 pm
The scsi2sd has setting for the time it takes to start it maybe waking up to late. Some models maybe faster. The atari is extrernal and I power it up first takes about 5 seconds for me before I can turn on the st. There are other setting that may effect an amiga

Tom
the startup delay option is already set to 0 seconds
A2000 - MC68000 - KS3.1 - WB 3.1 - 2MB ChipRAM - Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II - 8 MB FastRAM - SD2SCSI 16GB - Indivision ECS

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GadgetUK164 » Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:32 am

Try changing that delay from 0 seconds to say 3 or 5 seconds? It might be that its booting before the SCSI2SD is ready to go?
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

GianDO
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GianDO » Sat Dec 12, 2020 3:43 pm

GadgetUK164 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 10:32 am
Try changing that delay from 0 seconds to say 3 or 5 seconds? It might be that its booting before the SCSI2SD is ready to go?
I tried to set it first to 3 and then to 5 seconds, but nothing has changed. It is as if the SD card was mounted with a few seconds delay compared to the time it took for the A2000 to boot. That is, the SD card is mounted a few seconds after the A2000 has finished the boot sequence.
In my opinion, setting the startup delay to 3 or 5 seconds delays the mounting of the SD even more ..
These are the parameters of the SCSI2SD ..
Attachments
SCSI2SD-2.JPG
SCSI2SD-2.JPG (26.56 KiB) Viewed 571 times
SCSI2SD-1.JPG
SCSI2SD-1.JPG (28.52 KiB) Viewed 571 times
A2000 - MC68000 - KS3.1 - WB 3.1 - 2MB ChipRAM - Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II - 8 MB FastRAM - SD2SCSI 16GB - Indivision ECS

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GadgetUK164 » Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:47 pm

What about on the SCSI interface card you are using? They often have a jumper to enable a delay before looking for the drives (this is to allow old drives time to spin up).
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

GianDO
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GianDO » Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:18 pm

GadgetUK164 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 8:47 pm
What about on the SCSI interface card you are using? They often have a jumper to enable a delay before looking for the drives (this is to allow old drives time to spin up).

It is written in the first post ...
A2000 - MC68000 - KS3.1 - WB 3.1 - 2MB ChipRAM - Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II - 8 MB FastRAM - SD2SCSI 16GB - Indivision ECS

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GadgetUK164 » Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:52 pm

If there are no jumpers to enable a wait for the HDD, it sounds like that controller is not going to work with the SCSI2SD.

The only other thing I can think is the reset on that A2000 isn't long enough.
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

GianDO
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 11:25 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GianDO » Sun Dec 13, 2020 9:03 am

GadgetUK164 wrote:
Sat Dec 12, 2020 11:52 pm
If there are no jumpers to enable a wait for the HDD, it sounds like that controller is not going to work with the SCSI2SD.

The only other thing I can think is the reset on that A2000 isn't long enough.
I'm starting to think that the "problem" is the SuperBigBang controller. In fact, the SCSI2SD itself works well with the GVP Impact A2000-HC + 8 Series II controller. So it's not an A2000 problem.
A2000 - MC68000 - KS3.1 - WB 3.1 - 2MB ChipRAM - Impact A2000-HC+8 Series II - 8 MB FastRAM - SD2SCSI 16GB - Indivision ECS

User avatar
GadgetUK164
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2019 2:26 pm

Re: Boot From SCSI2SD

Post by GadgetUK164 » Sun Dec 13, 2020 11:19 am

There you go! If it works with the GVP, it's the SCSI controller. You could try toggling the other options on and off for the SCSI2SD (eg. SCSI 2 support / respond to short SCSI selection pulses, disable glitch filter etc. ie. Try with them flipped on or off vs what you tried already.
My YouTube Channel - www.youtube.com/GadgetUK164

Post Reply

Return to “AMIGA HARDWARE HELP”