Meanwell

General hardware issues and troubleshooting etc

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

Post Reply
alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Meanwell

Post by alenppc » Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:41 pm

I bought a meanwell RT-50B to replace the innards of a dead Commodore PSU so I can power my CD32 without having to use a 110>220V power converter.

meanwell.jpg
meanwell.jpg (156.3 KiB) Viewed 375 times

It all went relatively well, it's very simple and easy to set up. I drilled a hole on the side of the Commodore case and fastened the meanwell with a screw.

Unfortunately I am not impressed with this PSU. At full load it only delivers 4.65V to the Amiga motherboard (with the potentiometer cranked up to the max) which is a little low and causes instability with the TF330 connected. The original PSU delivers 4.75V under load and there are no stability issues.

My quest to find a replacement PSU for the CD32 continues...

User avatar
Steve
Posts: 1086
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2017 11:49 am

Re: Meanwell

Post by Steve » Thu Jun 10, 2021 7:45 pm

I did a Meanwell mod on my a1200 which is quite heavily loaded with mods/accels etc, I think I used the rt-65b and this seems to output 5v stable, no crashes or problems.
Repairs & Servicing for Atari & Amiga machines (and any other retro computers) Located in the West Midlands UK. PM me if you require assistance.
www.solidstatesociety.co.uk

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Meanwell

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Thu Jun 10, 2021 9:57 pm

Do you have 110V supply there?
I have made a few of these and have used them for a while now and they are pretty rock solid. I'm using them in the UK so 240V and get a solid 4.9V/12.2V under load from them consistently (not cranked up). Maybe there's an issue with lower voltages on the 110V range?

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Meanwell

Post by alenppc » Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:00 pm

PaulJ_2.0 wrote:
Thu Jun 10, 2021 9:57 pm
Do you have 110V supply there?
I have made a few of these and have used them for a while now and they are pretty rock solid. I'm using them in the UK so 240V and get a solid 4.9V/12.2V under load from them consistently (not cranked up). Maybe there's an issue with lower voltages on the 110V range?
Yes, we use 110V... I was thinking of the same thing. I should check if it behaves differently when plugged into a 220V converter. But the whole point of this was to get a PSU I can use without converters.

PaulJ_2.0
Posts: 506
Joined: Sat May 11, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Meanwell

Post by PaulJ_2.0 » Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:10 pm

alenppc wrote:
Thu Jun 10, 2021 10:00 pm
Yes, we use 110V... I was thinking of the same thing. I should check if it behaves differently when plugged into a 220V converter. But the whole point of this was to get a PSU I can use without converters.
Even at 220 you may experience the same results. 240V is still 10% (almost) higher than 220V, that probably equates to your 10% loss on voltage on the 12V and 5V conversions. That being just 0.5V on the 5V rail means a lot though.

dalek
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:03 am
Location: NSW Australia

Re: Meanwell

Post by dalek » Fri Jun 11, 2021 12:46 am

where are you measuring 5V at? The motherboard? Have you compared with the output post on the PSU? Those taped joins look a little sketchy - tried a thicker wire and cleaned contacts where the PSU cable connects to the board?

alenppc
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:59 pm

Re: Meanwell

Post by alenppc » Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:29 am

Yes, I measured this at the motherboard. I checked the PSU output terminals and there is no voltage drop there, just at the motherboard.

I reused the original Commodore cable since... a wire is a wire. I soldered a small extension to reach around the other end, and heatshrink-wrapped it, that's all.

Even if I measure the voltage at the other end of the cable (connector, unplugged), I get 5.77V, it's just at the motherboard that it drops a lot.

EDIT: fun fact, the commodore PSU measures 5.10V at the connector but it doesn't drop nearly as much at the motherboard as the meanwell.

User avatar
derkom
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 759
Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2018 6:45 pm

Re: Meanwell

Post by derkom » Fri Jun 11, 2021 6:48 am

alenppc wrote:
Fri Jun 11, 2021 2:29 am
I measure the voltage at the other end of the cable (connector, unplugged), I get 5.77V, it's just at the motherboard that it drops a lot.
Unplugged as in unloaded? What do you see at the PSU if you load it with only a dummy load? Your connections seem suspect.

I've used a couple of Meanwell RD-50s in retro projects and they've been solid and reliable, somewhere near the middle of the adjustment range.

Higgy
Posts: 159
Joined: Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:05 pm
Location: Somerset

Re: Meanwell

Post by Higgy » Fri Jun 11, 2021 7:22 am

Hi.

You reminded me that I did the same. Although I read you have to put some power resistors across one of the terminals to simulate a load that a PC would be using. Then the 5v did not drop so much.

I found it gave my CD32 picture interference on an LCD display. I have changed my setup now, but did not like the idea of hot resistors inside the PSU box.
Anyway, I recapped my standard Amiga PSU and have a CD32 lead and normal Amiga power lead coming out (I only power 1 item at a time). That seems to work fine.

matt020
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Meanwell

Post by matt020 » Fri Jun 11, 2021 11:09 am

I have also used this power supply, but in Australia we have 240v mains.

I was able to turn the 5v line up and have it stable at 5.1 with no problems at all.
I also found this PSU gave interference on the video signal, wavy lines, quite noticeable.

I took it back to the shop because of the video interference.

Post Reply

Return to “AMIGA HARDWARE HELP”