Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

The place to upload all essential Amiga software.

Moderators: terriblefire, Terriblefire Moderator

utri007
Posts: 79
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:20 pm

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by utri007 » Mon May 18, 2020 12:52 pm

This should work out of the box with Genesis and maybe AmiTCP as Genesis is just a GUI for it.

I think that it could be tinkered to work with Roadshow, as it is just a backport of OS4 tcp stack. I think that I used this http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/NetFS but there is now also this http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/NetFS-revised

I have Roadshow licenses, but I decided to revert back to Genesis, mostly because of nice GUI.

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by terriblefire » Mon May 18, 2020 2:14 pm

utri007 wrote:
Mon May 18, 2020 12:52 pm
This should work out of the box with Genesis and maybe AmiTCP as Genesis is just a GUI for it.

I think that it could be tinkered to work with Roadshow, as it is just a backport of OS4 tcp stack. I think that I used this http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/NetFS but there is now also this http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/NetFS-revised

I have Roadshow licenses, but I decided to revert back to Genesis, mostly because of nice GUI.
I use Roadshow for the same reason... because the others have a GUI. I dont see why a TCP/IP stack needs one.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

matt020
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by matt020 » Tue May 19, 2020 12:47 am

I continue to get "unknown error code" and I am using Genesis on both Amiga's. I suspect something would have to be running and listening on the other Amiga?

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 19, 2020 7:41 am

matt020 wrote:
Tue May 19, 2020 12:47 am
I continue to get "unknown error code" and I am using Genesis on both Amiga's. I suspect something would have to be running and listening on the other Amiga?
Appears that that genesis sets up NetFS. If you are using an ESP module you may need to find out what port that runs on and setup the portmap in the esp router
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

matt020
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by matt020 » Tue May 19, 2020 10:07 pm

I got it working. I'm using Genesis.

The video in the posts above helped, as it showed that the "Access" must be set to allow any IP to access the Amiga.

But you also have to enable AmigaNetFS in the "Services" tab, there is a tick box that needs to be selected.

Then, it just worked using the NetMount command.

So, yes, there has to be a service running on the Amiga hosting the drives. My CD32 with ESP8266 is able to mount drives from other Amigas in the house, but I cant map the CD32's drives and this is because I need to set the PORTMAP setting as Stephen suggested on a previous post. To do that, the port number is needed....

terriblefire
Moderator Team
Moderator Team
Posts: 2466
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:56 pm
Location: Glasgow, UK
Contact:

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by terriblefire » Tue May 19, 2020 10:47 pm

Sweet. Nice work.
———
I get cranky when asked to repeat myself.

matt020
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by matt020 » Thu May 21, 2020 11:08 am

A quick bit of Google work, it appears Netfs uses TCP port 2500.
I will test this on the CD32 over the next day or two in between work.

matt020
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Sep 29, 2019 9:17 am
Location: West Australia

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by matt020 » Thu May 21, 2020 2:26 pm

Confirmed. Amiga Netfs does indeed use port 2500.

I now have CD32 drives mapped on my A4000 (as CD32work: and CD32whdload:), I can view them in shell, DirOpus, no problems.

Looks like Netfs is available on Aminet. Genesis simply launches "netfs-server" in the background when it establishes a connection.

User avatar
supaduper
Posts: 250
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:05 pm

Re: Amiga to Amiga networking over tcp/ip

Post by supaduper » Thu May 21, 2020 2:33 pm

Execellent Matt , CD32 networked in 2020, who`d have thunk it :D

Post Reply

Return to “AMIGA SOFTWARE”