32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Information and progress towards the H5 board.
ctirad
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:59 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by ctirad » Thu Oct 22, 2020 11:37 am

I used to use programmable oscillators from Epson for as clock base for 44.1Khz for Falcon. https://www5.epsondevice.com/en/product ... tor/#sub03

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by troed » Thu Oct 22, 2020 12:41 pm

I followed the Epson links through to a distributor in Germany. You need a special programmer, but it looks like they can be had in low numbers at around 2.5 EUR each.

https://www.rutronik24.com/product/epso ... 35298.html

(I didn't check for a DIL package)

ctirad
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2019 5:59 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by ctirad » Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:02 pm

Mine were 5V ones in DIL package, programmed by distributor http://www.spezial.cz/ (pages in czech, german and polish languages). But that was about 20 years ago.

centuriontech
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:35 am

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by centuriontech » Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:29 pm

exxos wrote:
Wed Oct 21, 2020 11:21 pm
@troed Amazing :shock: Wonder if they comes via digikey then... People could go direct to digikey anyway. I can get them no problem ..just I would have to buy 1,000 of them :(
Hi, just peeking after I got hit to this page by google search.
Anyway, in order to clarify these custom configured oscillators are programed here, in-house. I make them myself from Cardinal comp. blanks. Ergo I typically ship ready made oscillator with very next batch of shipments, typically in a few days.
I have also realized this thread is specifically about Falcon main clock oscillator. Should you be interested, I have a stock pile of these: https://centuriontech.eu/product/falcon_oscillator_pal/
Unlike the first one, these are bought ex factory - not programmed blanks.

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by troed » Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:54 pm

centuriontech wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 3:29 pm
I have also realized this thread is specifically about Falcon main clock oscillator. Should you be interested, I have a stock pile of these:
Those are not just Falcon - that's the main PAL oscillator for the whole of the ST/STE series.

czietz
Posts: 410
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:02 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by czietz » Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:09 pm

troed wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 6:54 pm
Those are not just Falcon - that's the main PAL oscillator for the whole of the ST/STE series.
Though most STfs/STEs have crystals, not oscillators. Models with PAL modulator need a crystal for its ability to be pulled and looking at the gallery of STfs (without modulator) Atari has used a crystal there, too: viewforum.php?f=52
Afaik, MegaSTs have an oscillator in a DIP can, though.

EDIT: French STEs (no modulator, there) might have a 32.084988 MHz oscillator.

User avatar
DoG
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2018 12:26 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by DoG » Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:30 pm

czietz wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:09 pm
...Afaik, MegaSTs have an oscillator in a DIP can, though...
Yes, but slightly different frequency. 32.04245 MHz.

troed
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Aug 21, 2017 10:27 pm

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by troed » Thu Oct 22, 2020 9:05 pm

DoG wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 7:30 pm
Yes, but slightly different frequency. 32.04245 MHz.
32.0424 MHz CO25944
32.04245 MHz C100281 (Mega Oscillator)
32.084988 MHz CO70176 (Falcon)
32.084988 MHz CB102275 (STE / MegaSTE PAL Oscillator)
32.215905 MHz C398097 (STE / MegaSTE / TT Oscillator)
32.21590 MHz CB102649 (Falcon Square Oscillator)

Divide by four to get the known CPU variants:

"Early STF" = 8.01MHz
Regular PAL = 8.02MHz
STE NTSC = 8.05MHz

For demo compatibility, you'd want a remake to be 8.02 (thus 32.084988) since that's what most demo coders had/targeted. Since the MFP is running off a different clock this cause differences when demo coders try to time "where" on screen an MFP interrupt (Timer A..D) triggers.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 15065
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: exxosuk
Contact:

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by exxos » Tue Feb 23, 2021 1:19 pm

Back to this.. I'm getting some made. It be shipping and taxes which will be the main costs. Though I am ordering 500 of them.. I doubt I will ever sell that many, but I hope I can get the end price a bit lower ultimately.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
kodak80
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane,QLD Australia
Contact:

Re: 32.084988MHZ oscillator shortages

Post by kodak80 » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:33 am

Image

I copied this schematic into Eagle and built a PCB up using 0805 SMD components but the resulting board does not output any clock at all when I tested it. Q6 and Q8 on the hand written schematic are replaced by the MBT3904DW1T1 IC in mine.

32MHZ OSC-routed-schematic.png
32MHZ OSC-routed-schematic.png (76.15 KiB) Viewed 546 times
PCB-top.png
PCB-top.png (29.23 KiB) Viewed 546 times
PCB-bottom.png
PCB-bottom.png (26.69 KiB) Viewed 546 times

I read around 2.6v on the output where the clock signal should be and my scope does not show any sort of clock signalling. Just wondering if I have stuffed something up with my designing? I have also attached a ZIP with my Eagle files in case these help with fixing this.
32mhz OSC (kodak80)-EagleSCH-BRD.zip
(53.69 KiB) Downloaded 24 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Creator of the Atari ST Review magazine archive: https://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

Post Reply

Return to “H5 Phoenix Platform Edition”