Mega ST2 psu failure

Repairs & upgrades.
Post Reply
Erikswe
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:28 pm

Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by Erikswe » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:35 pm

I got myself a Mega St2 and it doesn't power up at all, nothing at all happens. I thought I would start with the PSU. It has a Mitsumi sr188 Psu. Will the PSU start without load?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by exxos » Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:39 pm

Erikswe wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:35 pm
I got myself a Mega St2 and it doesn't power up at all, nothing at all happens. I thought I would start with the PSU. It has a Mitsumi sr188 Psu. Will the PSU start without load?
No, you need to load them for them to work properly. Lots of info on my site about PSU's..

http://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/psu/index.htm
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Erikswe
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by Erikswe » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:53 pm

Thanks for the fast answer. Well I did read there and it says the PSU don't work good with out load...
I have taken it out of the ST. It looks very much alike the sr98

Erikswe
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by Erikswe » Sun Sep 23, 2018 1:54 pm

Ahhh sorry...my English must be rubbish!! I totally misunderstood your answer...sorry!!!

atari030
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by atari030 » Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:42 pm

Does the PSU tick by any chance? I have a pair of Mega's with odd PSU faults, so I'm curious to know.

The 12v fan on mine won't kick over unless the PSU is disconnected.

mikro
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2017 11:22 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by mikro » Tue Sep 25, 2018 6:32 am

Yes, ticking is normal. See also here: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=937

atari030
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by atari030 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 7:19 am

Without hijacking too much, PSU plugged in - no 5v, no fan spin. PSU unplugged 5v OK and fan spins (no tick). This happens on two PSU's and two Mega's, one PSU is recapped and had the rectifier bridge replaced, one not. If I plug in an STFM PSU - no problem, Mega's work fine. Just plain weird.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4042
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by exxos » Tue Sep 25, 2018 8:10 am

I think someone else had the same problem, can't remember what thread is was though.. probably bad solder joint on the PSU somewhere.
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

atari030
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:43 pm

Re: Mega ST2 psu failure

Post by atari030 » Tue Sep 25, 2018 12:12 pm

I wouldn't have thought it would be a bad joint on two PSU's. When the garage warms up a bit I will get in and have a closer look. ATM it is pretty cold in there. :D

Post Reply