How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Repairs & upgrades.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:20 am

Bikerbob wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 12:04 am
MSTE PSU REPAIR KIT PHIHONG PSM-5341 240V type £25 22 In Stock [0064]
So this is what I want I assume.. but I have a questions.. your line there says 240v type - but I am to understand this is a switching PSU.
SO.. am I buying this.. because its for the PSM-5341? OR have you changed something that only makes it a 240v kit?
I don't know if there is a 110V version.. possible the PSU does 100-250V, but I forgot to check when I had my PSU.. So see what it says on the label.. see if it matches the PSU I had..
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Bikerbob
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by Bikerbob » Sat Nov 11, 2017 2:39 pm

OK, well not sure how to check, but this is the doc on the psu

http://dev-docs.atariforge.org/files/PS ... 30_PSU.pdf

SO, long and short I would like to buy your kit, assuming its the one I need. What is the list of components in your kit? and I can compare to that doc?

James

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 11, 2017 3:46 pm

It says universal 100 - 240. So its just one PSU then :)
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by Icky » Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:23 pm

Icky wrote:
Wed Nov 08, 2017 11:39 pm
Great guide. I have added one more thing to finish off the PSU recapping and refurb. I found that the floppy and HDD cables were all loose and sometimes got in the way when closing the case. My MegaSTE had black insulating tape around the cables at various places. I had seen that modern PSUs for PCs employ an expandable braiding around the cables. After sourcing 1m of 4mm braiding that goes from 2mm - 8mm It made a better job of the cable management.

Image

Using some heat shrink wrap finishes off the ends to stop the braiding coming unraveled

I picked up my braiding from http://www.hobbytronics.co.uk/braided-s ... d=sleeving for just over a £1
Below is the finished PSU with the braiding.
IMG_2629.JPG
IMG_2629.JPG (1.82 MiB) Viewed 445 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Posts: 2191
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by exxos » Sun Nov 12, 2017 3:08 pm

Icky wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 2:23 pm
Below is the finished PSU with the braiding.
Nice work! :bravo:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

Peter_John48115
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 6:13 pm

Re: How to: recapping the Mega STe power supply

Post by Peter_John48115 » Thu Apr 12, 2018 7:04 pm

Hi...i am a new user here. I would have thought screen flickering would be more related to ageing capacitors than anything else.
Some optos do have better ratings and speed great than others, ultimately if it makes any difference or not.. it is not something I have tried with the mega power supply.

Post Reply