kodak80 progress

Where Alpha builders can post pics and progress etc
User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 1277
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by Icky » Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:23 pm

Icky wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:08 pm
kodak80 wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:39 am
BGACK PULL UP FIX: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1185&start=10#p10086

Question for Icky and Forgottenmyname: Just curious, do you have this modification still on your boards?

I note that Exxos advised that this modification is not needed: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1230&p=10785&hilit=BGACK#p10785
Mine is still in place. Might remove.
Removed BGACK extra pull-up and all is working still.

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:39 pm

Icky wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 5:08 pm
kodak80 wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:39 am
BGACK PULL UP FIX: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1185&start=10#p10086

Question for Icky and Forgottenmyname: Just curious, do you have this modification still on your boards?

I note that Exxos advised that this modification is not needed: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1230&p=10785&hilit=BGACK#p10785
Mine is still in place. Might remove.
kodak80 wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 9:39 am
Also, with the GLUE modification: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=1185&start=30#p10524
When I connect GLUE D0 to RP3 pin 2, the board stops booting and I get a white screen. Any thoughts on why? Both of the tracks have been cut. If I disconnect this 1 bodge wire the board boots to TOS.
Did you cut both tracks on STEP 1? The cut track line is across two tracks on the bottom of the board. One marked in yellow and the other in blue.
Thanks Icky. GLUE Step 1. I have only cut the yellow track. I thought the reference to the two tracks meant the other was on the top of the board, so there are 3 tracks to be cut. Will cut the 2nd track tonight when I get home after work.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:24 am

Thanks Icky. GLUE modification now works with that track cut and the board boots to TOS.

I also need to update th VGA cable pinouts I made as I hade one pin incorrect. On the 13 pin din connector I had pin 1 going to VGA pin 13 which is wrong. The correct pin is pin 5 on 13 pin din to VGA pin 13 as shown below.
STF Remake VGA Color Cable.png
STF Remake VGA Color Cable.png (143.41 KiB) Viewed 1035 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 2:58 am

OK, status update for me:

Video output seems a bit dark on my NEC LCD with both boards. My video adapter I created does not have any resistors in it at the moment.

Currently do not have my video cable connected for audio so no sound at the moment.

1st board
  • All modifications completed (except video and external floppy unf**k boards)
  • SatanDisk working
  • does not see the floppy drive at all (have tried an Epson 380 floppy and a Gotek)
2nd board
  • All modifications completed (except video and external floppy unf**k boards)
  • Floppy working (Gotek)
  • SatanDisk working (I have not made any modification to 1772 DMA BUS SHORT FIX)
IMG_1997.JPG
IMG_1997.JPG (3.05 MiB) Viewed 978 times
IMG_1998.JPG
IMG_1998.JPG (2.16 MiB) Viewed 978 times
IMG_2003.JPG
IMG_2003.JPG (3.53 MiB) Viewed 978 times
IMG_2004.JPG
IMG_2004.JPG (2.68 MiB) Viewed 978 times
IMG_2005.JPG
IMG_2005.JPG (3.07 MiB) Viewed 978 times
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7432
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by exxos » Sat Oct 20, 2018 9:53 am

:bravo:
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 652
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by PaulJ » Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:47 pm

kodak80 wrote:
Tue Oct 09, 2018 10:24 am
Thanks Icky. GLUE modification now works with that track cut and the board boots to TOS.

I also need to update th VGA cable pinouts I made as I hade one pin incorrect. On the 13 pin din connector I had pin 1 going to VGA pin 13 which is wrong. The correct pin is pin 5 on 13 pin din to VGA pin 13 as shown below.

STF Remake VGA Color Cable.png
Kodak80, check my build progress, I just found an open line on my parallel board and fixed. Maybe you have the same issue.

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 10:28 pm

PaulJ wrote:
Sat Oct 20, 2018 7:47 pm
[
Kodak80, check my build progress, I just found an open line on my parallel board and fixed. Maybe you have the same issue.
Cool. Thanks PaulJ for finding that. I will add a wire this morning and test the PARCP again. :D
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:14 pm

With Parallel pin 6 connected to YM-2149 pin 9, PARCP now connects and works so I can confirm that this fix works.

I successfully transferred files to the SatanDisk C: drive through the PARCP. :D

I have also copied a number of floppies to the SatanDisk C: drive and so far no corruption. That said, I am using an IMP DMA chip so probably need to switch it with a BAD DMA chip ans test again.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 7432
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by exxos » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:55 am

I posted somewhere I am using the imp chip as well... It goes mental in the ste, so the imp is "more bad" than the bad -38 DMA...
4MB STFM 1.44 FD- VELOCE+ 020 STE - 4MB STE 32MHz - STFM 16MHz - STM - MEGA ST - Falcon 030 CT60 - Atari 2600 - Atari 7800 - Gigafile - SD Floppy Emulator - PeST - HxC - CosmosEx - Ultrasatan - various clutter

https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/last/storenew/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

kodak80
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 1:14 am
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: kodak80 progress

Post by kodak80 » Sat Oct 27, 2018 11:09 pm

Small update from me. Now have sound connected to my video adapter cable and works fine.

3M PLCC68 sockets arrived from Mouser this week. Now waiting on blitter chips ordered from Best Electronics as they were the only supplier with stock. Also ordered some Atari Crytal oscillators from Best Electronics to bring my STF remake boards to 100% in GemBench.

Still not having much succecss with my first board getting it to see the floppy drive. I have swapped the chips with my 2nd board which is working and this does not change anything so not the chips and at least I know that these have not been damaged. I suspect the header pins I used for the SILs might be the issue. I have removed one so far next to the DMA chip and solder this direct to the board but still no improvement. I guess I need to get my new USB scope out of the box and learn how to use this to see what is going on with this board. One difference between my working board 2 and board 1 is that I have not yet fitted the external floppy connector to board 1. Not sure if this would have an impact on the floppy not working? Cannot think that this would make any difference.

Board 2 is working fine so far. Need to change the RGB buffer resistors to brighten the output up a bit. Have ordered some 1.8k resistors so have to wait for these to arrive. Video is usable at the moment so no rush. Have ordered from OSHPark the 1772 buffer board and the reset board.

STF remake board 3 arrived this week so will pass this onto a friend to build up.
Atari Falcon 030 | Atari 1040 STE | Atari 1040 STFM | Atari 1040 STF | Kryoflux & Supercard Pro Flux boards
Admin of Atari ST Review Magazine Archive: http://www.chillichai.com/atari-st-review

Post Reply