Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Progress on our FPGA cores.
User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 492
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:57 am

Yes but I don't think anyone is really going to care, since I'm not a company.

...Right?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10926
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:15 am

Smonson wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:57 am
Yes but I don't think anyone is really going to care, since I'm not a company.
Yeah.. true.. only the flack I get off companies for doing nothing is unreal :roll: There was a company to verify the quality of some goods I use.. I mentioned that on my website.. then they sent me a letter last week saying I didn't have permission to do that unless I paid them.. no thanks.. Bit pointless having a company to verify products then not being able to mention them! Just greedy companies as usual..


Anyway..

I see the advantages of the larger connector with it being more robust.. But in case of connections on monitors, I'm not even sure what my it is used a larger connector any more...? My cheap TV uses a smaller HDMI connector.. So I end up doing this..

IMG_3399.JPG
IMG_3399.JPG (35.68 KiB) Viewed 1142 times

So I think having the smaller connector probably more of a advantage.. Of course it may not be as strong, but we can look into options or different manufacturers of connectors to see which is the strongest one..

Of course the workaround for licensing issues, will be to not supply the connector with the board.. I don't think it is a problem to buy and sell the connectors themselves... But using that connector on a actual product would be a licensing infringement.. It may be worth looking at their licensing terms, see if there is a workaround like low-volume or prototypes can be used without licensing...

But yes, nobody should really care, but I thought that about my web shop when someone reported me got me shut down.. Only takes one person looking to cause trouble.. And I have had many over the years :(
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
rpineau
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 517
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2017 6:08 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by rpineau » Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:05 pm

I'll also go HDMI for convenience.
Working ones : MegaSTE (68020) / TT030 / Falcon with AB040 & Eclipse / 1040STF
Need testing : Falcon with CT2

User avatar
IngoQ
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 974
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 8:38 am
Location: Germany

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by IngoQ » Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:30 pm

I'd say stick with the DVI, just to make sure. If size is a matter you can always go with MiniDVI or MicroDVI. In addition, DVI-I would allow you to output both analog and digital RGB on the same connector.

DVI to HDMI Adaptors are cheap as chips, and could even be included, in my mind not worth the risk of a costly cease and desist letter.
Ingo :geek:

| Atari 1040STE@32MHz | Amiga 1200 (ACA1220) | Atari 800XL (U1MB, SIDE2) | Atari 130XL (Sophia DVI) | C64 (1541 Ultimate II, Rev3 RFMod Replacement) | TI 99/4A (F18A, 32k, FlashROM 99) | Sinclair ZX Spectrum 128 (Stereo, DivMMC) | Amstrad CPC664 (512k, M4 Wifi) | ... |

User avatar
PaulJ
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2018 1:14 am
Location: USA

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by PaulJ » Tue Oct 30, 2018 2:44 pm

Smonson wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 10:14 am
I'd like to take an informal poll, if anyone who has an opinion would care to respond -

Which video connector would you prefer to see on this mod: HDMI or DVI?

HDMI connectors are cheaper and use less board space (and need a smaller hole in the back of the ST). But the DVI connector seems a lot more physically sturdy.

Both types of connector carry the same signals and both are compatible with DVI and HDMI monitors and TVs.

In either case, audio would not be transmitted through the connector - just to be clear.
Personally I'd like to see an HDMI connector. Most things today have an HDMI input and if not there are plenty of HDMI to DVI cables available.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2234
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Icky » Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:13 pm

+1 for HDMI. As PaulJ said most things have HDMI these days.

With a lot of tv’s etc they are just HDMI. If you really need DVI use a converter.

Or you could go all Apple on this and have your own proprietary connector and sell the adaptor cables at a premium. :twisted:

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 492
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Wed Oct 31, 2018 1:59 am

Icky wrote:
Tue Oct 30, 2018 7:13 pm
Or you could go all Apple on this and have your own proprietary connector and sell the adaptor cables at a premium. :twisted:
I suppose that's one option! :D

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 492
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:57 am

I got some of the aforementioned Schmitt trigger buffers, this is what the output clock looks like (with 33R in series).
A0005DS.png
A0005DS.png (5.7 KiB) Viewed 1199 times

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10926
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by exxos » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:38 am

Smonson wrote:
Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:57 am
I got some of the aforementioned Schmitt trigger buffers, this is what the output clock looks like (with 33R in series).
Is that on x10 probe ? The scope will load the pins and not give proper reading unless on x10.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Smonson
Trusted Guru
Trusted Guru
Posts: 492
Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:21 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Project: HDMI/DVI out for STFM

Post by Smonson » Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:14 pm

Yep - 10x. Presumably the load is in the ST side of things. Or some effect that I'm not aware of. I will try it with a smaller series resistor when I get a chance.

Post Reply

Return to “FPGA DEVELOPMENT”