STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Help & information about the STE V1 series boosters.
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:03 pm

:pullhair: :pullhair:

POS GAL chips. Will have to program all the GAL's I have left and try them all in my test board to see if they actually work or not.

The original GAL's I was using I brought like 200 of them, and I have like 5 left now. It's why I brought some more from another seller, only these ones are junk.

So I will just have to see how many GALs work in the booster, put them in my store, and then it will have to wait before any more are built until I can obtain some GAL's which actually work.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Icky » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:57 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:03 pm
:pullhair: :pullhair:

POS GAL chips. Will have to program all the GAL's I have left and try them all in my test board to see if they actually work or not.

The original GAL's I was using I brought like 200 of them, and I have like 5 left now. It's why I brought some more from another seller, only these ones are junk.

So I will just have to see how many GALs work in the booster, put them in my store, and then it will have to wait before any more are built until I can obtain some GAL's which actually work.
Not only Bad DMAs but now Bad GALs.

This sucks when you buy a batch of chips and they are not as specified. :(

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:03 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:57 pm
Not only Bad DMAs but now Bad GALs.

This sucks when you buy a batch of chips and they are not as specified. :(
Indeed. I am testing all the ones I can find currently. It seems the case of one works and 2 don't so far.

I don't really understand what the actual problem is with these chips either. The voltages and speed ratings they are outputting is all within tolerances of what I tested while ago.

I would have thought they would have failed verification if there was something wrong with them. But I guess there still could be internal faults which do not show up under verification. I mean verification really only checks all the internal "fuses" are blown correctly I assume. There would not be any way to know if the internal flip-flop logic is functioning correctly for example.

Now makes me wonder how long I have actually had this problem for :roll:
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
Icky
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 2232
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2017 10:57 am
Location: UK
YouTube: https://tinyurl.com/yals4a3k
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by Icky » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:10 pm

exxos wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:03 pm
Now makes me wonder how long I have actually had this problem for :roll:
That would really suck if this was the case of most of your booster issues

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:15 pm

Icky wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:10 pm
That would really suck if this was the case of most of your booster issues
We'll see how all my testing goes...

I can accept they may be 15ns parts for example when they are printed as 7ns parts.. I did a lot of diagnostics on the original V1 booster. Where it really did not matter if they were 7ns,15ns,25ns parts. But of course every single one was printed as a 7ns part.

I thought that would be the end of it, but obviously there is more to this chaos than simply incorrectly printed speeds.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:22 pm

So about 7 out of about 20 GAL's worked on the lot I got last week..

I only had 6 original GAL's, all 6 tested OK.. but not enough left to batch test them, so jury still out on those...

I have ordered chips from various sellers to see if I can hit on some good ones somewhere..
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:11 pm

I took out a GAL from one of the red boards, and fitted it to my test board, and it was iffy at best. It would only work at 8MHz otherwise. So GAL went in the bin.

I put in the board a GAL which tested fine in my test board, and its booted up and seems to be working fine now.

So looks like I have a mission to change the GALs on the boards I made up this week. Maybe this will be the end of all this sage finally then!
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3122
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:15 pm

Well spotted. Is there By other solution for Gals these days? Like going to smt or a different ic all together?
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 10925
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by exxos » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:40 pm

Forgottenmyname wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:15 pm
Well spotted. Is there By other solution for Gals these days? Like going to smt or a different ic all together?
Ages ago I did a adapter for a Atmel and Altera PLD. They more expensive, but I guess they work... viewtopic.php?f=24&t=76&p=1501

Was trying to keep size and costs down by using a normal GAL. But bit late in the day to think about using a different PLD now :(

If I ever did a new design (likely won't happen) I probably would use a larger Atmel chip (like the SEC booster) then route the address lines to decode ROM faster.. Move the CPU over to a SMT socket, Make the header pins contact on the inside of the PLCC socket.. Though with a large PLD and SEC design basically done, it would be better to use the SEC CPU on a future booster.. Then its a much larger PCB, likely be more layers etc.. But then we talking of another years work when I hardly have time to work on the SEC booster as it is :(

Its why I say I am not doing anymore STE stuff after this booster, I mean this should have been a super simple project and its been weeks of chaos :( I really want to get back to the STF project full time...
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.

User avatar
PhilC
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3122
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2018 8:22 pm

Re: STE V1.5 32MHz BOOSTER - STATUS

Post by PhilC » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:43 pm

Totally understand, so essentially you need enough working Gals to get the ste boosters you have finished and that's that.

Good luck with the ones you're waiting on then.
If it ain't broke, test it to Destruction.

Post Reply

Return to “STE V1 SERIES 32MHz BOOSTER”