Floppy failure fix - WIP

The latest tweaks and fixes to keep your machine running in tip-top shape.
Post Reply
User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14431
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by exxos » Fri Nov 30, 2018 10:23 pm

While there can be a lot of reasons for the floppy drive to fail, such as bad PSU, bad drive etc. If a drive works in a PC but not a STE for example, then its possible the machine may need the fix below.

The short version of this fix , is that the original Atari floppy drives had internal pull ups on some of the signals, drives like the MPF920 do not. So its possible (and likely) All non-original drives will need this modification. It is possible original drives could suffer as well, but this is a very new fix and the "bug" has only just been found.

This issue can cause the drive not to be found, intermittent read/write issues etc This issue is likely present on any machine with a 1772/Ajax floppy controller using a LS06 type buffer. IIRC the MSTE had 1 of these resistors fitted, I need to look into that again..


Below, the points in red need a 1K resistor connecting to 5V.

stemod.JPG
stemod.JPG (146.09 KiB) Viewed 2882 times

I did a quick example below...

IMG_3634.JPG
IMG_3634.JPG (6.27 MiB) Viewed 2882 times
IMG_3635.JPG
IMG_3635.JPG (5.64 MiB) Viewed 2882 times
IMG_3636.JPG
IMG_3636.JPG (5.42 MiB) Viewed 2882 times
IMG_3637.JPG
IMG_3637.JPG (4.97 MiB) Viewed 2882 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14431
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by exxos » Fri Jul 17, 2020 2:50 pm

FALCON MOD

Basically the same as above, but on U35 on the Falcon. PIn4 already has a pull-up so there is no need to add another one.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (137.48 KiB) Viewed 1610 times
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

friijy2001
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by friijy2001 » Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:31 am

This is one of my last fixes I would like to do in my STFM before closing the case so to speak. The is locating the chip on this machine as it may not be in the same/similar location. I have a HD7406P in socket U14 on my board which has the same pin count. Is this the same/similar chip?

User avatar
exxos
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 14431
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2017 11:19 pm
Location: UK
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/user/exxosuk
Contact:

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by exxos » Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:36 am

Should be yes. Must be s old machine not to have a LS variant.
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/ All my hardware guides - mods - games - STOS
https://www.exxoshost.co.uk/atari/store2/ - All my hardware mods for sale - Please help support by making a purchase.
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=1585 Have you done the Mandatory Fixes ?

friijy2001
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2021 1:34 pm

Re: Floppy failure fix - WIP

Post by friijy2001 » Tue Feb 23, 2021 8:46 am

Managed to find this, it looks like the pin layout is the same too.

https://www.futurlec.com/74/IC7406.shtml

Post Reply

Return to “TWEAKS & FIXES”